Pulitzer Prizes

AAS Members Who Have Won A Pulitzer Prize

Members —who currently number over one thousand individuals—are elected by their colleagues in recognition of their eminent works of scholarship, artistic endeavors, or public engagement in pre-twentieth-century American history and culture.



  • 2024  Jacqueline Jones, No Right to an Honest Living: The Struggles of Boston's Black Workers in the Civil War Era
  • 2019   David W. Blight, Frederick Douglass: Prophet of Freedom
  • 2014   Alan Taylor, The Internal Enemy: Slavery and War in Virginia, 1772-1832
  • 2011   Eric Foner, The Fiery Trial: Abraham Lincoln and American Slavery
  • 2009   Annette Gordon-Reed, The Hemingses of Monticello: An American Family
  • 2008   Daniel Walker Howe, What Hath God Wrought: The Transformation of America, 1815-1848
  • 2007   Eugene Roberts and Hank Klibanoff, The Race Beat: The Press, the Civil Rights Struggle, and the Awakening of a Nation
  • 2005   David Hackett Fischer, Washington's Crossing
  • 2000   Joseph J. Ellis, Founding Brothers: The Revolutionary Generation
  • 1997   Jack N. Rakove, Original Meanings: Politics and Ideas in the Making of the Constitution
  • 1996   Alan S. Taylor, William Cooper's Town
  • 1995   Doris Kearns Goodwin, No Ordinary Time: Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt: The Homefront in World War II
  • 1993   Gordon S. Wood, The Radicalism of the American Revolution
  • 1991   Laurel Thatcher Ulrich, A Midwife's Tale: The Life of Martha Ballard, Based on Her Diary
  • 1989   James M. McPherson, The Battle Cry of Freedom: The Civil War Era
  • 1987   Bernard Bailyn, Voyagers to the West: A Passage in the Peopling of America on the Eve of the Revolution
  • 1982   C. Vann Woodward, ed., Mary Chestnut's Civil War
  • 1981   Lawrence A. Cremin, American Education: The National Experience, 1783-1876
  • 1980   Leon F. Litwack, Been in the Storm So Long
  • 1979   Don E. Fehrenbacher, The Dred Scott Case: Its Significance in American Law and Politics
  • 1978   Alfred D. Chandler, Jr., The Visible Hand: The Managerial Revolution in American Business
  • 1977   Don Fehrenbacher, The Impending Crisis
  • 1976   Paul Horgan, Lamy of Santa Fe
  • 1975   Dumas Malone, Jefferson and His Time
  • 1974   Daniel Boorstin, The Americans: The Democratic Experience
  • 1973   Michael Kammen, People of Paradox: An Inquiry Concerning the Origins of American Civilization
  • 1969   Leonard W. Levy, Origin of the Fifth Amendment1972   Carl N. Degler, Neither Black Nor White
  • 1968   Bernard Bailyn, The Ideological Origins of the American Revolution
  • 1967   William Goetzmann, Exploration and Empire: The Explorer and Scientist in the Winning of the American West
  • 1966   Perry Miller, The Life of the Mind in America
  • 1962   Lawrence H. Gipson, The Triumphant Empire: Thunderclouds Gather in the West
  • 1956   Richard Hofstadter, The Age of Reform
  • 1955   Paul Horgan, Great River: The Rio Grande in North American History
  • 1954   Bruce Catton, A Stillness at Appomattox
  • 1953   George Dangerfield, The Era of Good Feelings
  • 1952   Oscar Handlin, The Uprooted
  • 1947   James Phinney Baxter 3rd, Scientists Against Time
  • 1946   Arthur M. Schlesinger, Jr. , The Age of Jackson
  • 1944   Merle Curti, The Growth of American Thought
  • 1943   Esther Forbes, Paul Revere and the World He Lived In
  • 1939   Frank Luther Mott, A History of American Magazines
  • 1938   Paul Herman Buck, The Road to Reunion, 1865-1900
  • 1936   Andrew C. McLaughlin, The Constitutional History of the United States
  • 1935   Charles McLean Andrews, The Colonial Period of American History
  • 1933   Frederick Jackson Turner, The Significance of Sections in American History
  • 1930   Claude H. Van Tyne, The War of Independence
  • 1927   Samuel Flagg Bemis, Pickney's Treaty
  • 1926   Edward Channing, A History of the United States
  • 1923   Charles Warren, The Supreme Court in United States History
  • 1922   James Truslow Adams, The Founding of New England
  • 1920   Justin H. Smith, The War With Mexico
  • 1918   James Ford Rhodes, History of the Civil War
  • 1916   Jean Jules Jusserand, With Americans of Past and Present Days


Biography or Autobiography


  • 2024  Ilyon Woo, Master Slave Husband Wife
  • 2014   Megan Marshall, Margaret Fuller: A New American Life
  • 2002   David McCullough, John Adams
  • 1993   David McCullough, Truman
  • 1988   David Herbert Donald, Look Homeward: A Life of Thomas Wolfe
  • 1985   Kenneth Silverman, The Life and Times of Cotton Mather
  • 1982   William S. McFeely, Grant: A Biography
  • 1966   Arthur M. Schlesinger, Jr. , A Thousand Days
  • 1961   David Donald, Charles Sumner and the Coming of the Civil War
  • 1960   Samuel Eliot Morison, John Paul Jones
  • 1958   Douglas Southall Freeman, George Washington
  • 1950   Samuel Flagg Bemis, John Quincy Adams and the Foundation of American Foreign Policy
  • 1945   Russel Blaine Nye, George Bancroft: Brahmin Rebel
  • 1943   Samuel Eliot Morison, Admiral of the Ocean Sea [Columbus]
  • 1937   Allan Nevins, Hamilton Fish: The Inner History of the Grant Administration
  • 1935   Douglas Southall Freeman, R.E. Lee
  • 1933   Allan Nevins, Grover Cleveland
  • 1925   M.A. DeWolfe Howe, Barrett Wendell and His Letters
  • 1920   Albert J. Beveridge, The Life of John Marshall
  • 1919   Henry Adams, The Education of Henry Adams


  • 1978   William Safire, New York Times


  • 1972   Wallace E. Stegner, Angle of Repose

General Nonfiction

  • 1993   Garry Wills, Lincoln at Gettysburg
  • 1986   Larry McMurtry, Lonesome Dove
  • 1967   David Brion Davis, The Problem of Slavery in Western Culture
  • 1965   Howard Mumford Jones, O Strange New World
  • 1964   Richard Hofstadter, Anti-Intellectualism in American Life

 Editorial Writing

  • 1943   Forrest W. Seymour, Des Moines Register and Tribune