Proceedings of the Annual Meeting

OCTOBER 21, 1964 AT THE LIBRARY OF THE SOCIETY, WORCESTER

THE one hundred and fifty-second annual meeting of the American Antiquarian Society was held at the Library of the Society, Worcester, Massachusetts, October 21, 1964 at 10:45 a.m. The meeting was called to order by Vice President Clifton Waller Barrett. The following members were present: Rodney Armstrong, Karl John Richard Arndt, Clifton Waller Barrett, James Franklin Beard, Augustus George Bullock, Lyman Henry Butterfield, Roger Butterfield, Ernest Caulfield, John Whitin Curtis, Samuel Foster Damon, Theron Johnson Damon, Fred Harold Daniels, Warren Gilbert Davis, Francis Henshaw Dewey, Jr., Ernest Stanley Dodge, Linwood Mandeville Erskine, Jr., Paris Fletcher, Esther Forbes, Malcolm Freiberg, Pierce Welch Gaines, Ebenezer Gay, Bradley Baldwin Gilman, Richard Gimbel, Richard Walden Hale, Jr., Edward Pierce Hamilton, Thompson Ritner Harlow, Frank Leighton Harrington, Richard Allen Heald, Oliver Wendell Holmes. Harold Hugo, Harold Stein Jantz, Howard Bonar Jefferson, John Jeppson, 2nd, Edward Chase Kirkland, Russell Wallace Knight, Edward Connery Lathem, Daniel Waldo Lincoln, Albert Edgar Lownes, Marcus Allen McCorison, Keves DeWitt Metcalf, Robert Earle Moody, Ray Nash, Stephen Thomas Riley, Clifford Kenyon Shipton, Rae MacCollum Spencer, Robert Waring Stoddard, Bradford

Fuller Swan, Milton Halsey Thomas, Charles van Ravenswaay, Henry Rouse Viets, Alexander James Wall, Michael Joseph Walsh, and Nathaniel Wheeler.

The call to the meeting was read by Daniel Waldo Lincoln, Secretary, but it was voted to dispense with the reading of the records of the last meeting, since they had been printed. The Report of the Council of the Society was presented by the Director and the Librarian's Report by Mr. McCorison. Mr. Bullock reported on the state of the treasury. It was voted to accept these reports and refer them to the Committee on Publications.

The election of officers being in order, Mr. Stoddard reported for the Nominating Committee, consisting of Messrs. Stoddard, Jeppson and Gilman, appointed by the President in 1963, the following nominations: President, Clifton Waller Barrett; Vice presidents, George Sumner Barton and John Jeppson, 2nd; Councillors, Albert White Rice, Thomas Winthrop Streeter, Richard Allen Heald, Edward Larocque Tinker, Walter Muir Whitehill, Keyes DeWitt Metcalf, Fred Harold Daniels, Frank Leighton Harrington, Carleton Rubira Richmond, and Paris Fletcher: Secretary for Foreign Correspondence, Alden Porter Johnson; Secretary for Domestic Correspondence, Clifford Kenyon Shipton; Recording Secretary, Daniel Waldo Lincoln; Treasurer, Augustus George Bullock; Committee on Publications, Alden Porter Johnson, Rae MacCollum Spencer and Marcus Allen McCorison: Auditors. Daniel Waldo Lincoln and Bradley Baldwin Gilman; Director, Clifford Kenyon Shipton; Librarian, Marcus Allen McCorison.

It was unanimously voted that the Secretary be requested to cast a ballot for the nominees, and this being done, with no other nominations being offered, the foregoing nominees were declared elected. Mr. Shipton, on behalf of the Council, proposed for membership in the Society: William Howard Adams, of Lee's Summit, Missouri; George Athan Billias, of Worcester; Richard Barksdale Harwell, of Brunswick, Maine; William Kaye Lamb, of Ottawa, Ontario, and Gabriel Nadeau, of Rutland, Massachusetts.

The President appointed a committee, consisting of Messrs. Gay and Harlow to distribute, collect and count the ballots. Mr. Gay reported that fifty-two votes had been cast for the persons nominated, and they were declared elected. Papers were read by Oliver Wendell Holmes, of Washington, D. C., on "The Stagecoach Tavern," and by Karl J. R. Arndt, of Worcester, on "Charles Sealsfield, "The Greatest American Author.'"

Mr. Barrett then announced that members were invited to cocktails at the residence of Mr. and Mrs. F. Harold Daniels, 190 Salisbury Street, after which a buffet luncheon was served in the Library of the Society.

> Respectfully submitted, DANIEL W. LINCOLN Recording Secretary

Copyright of Proceedings of the American Antiquarian Society is the property of American Antiquarian Society and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use.