1933.]

# PROCEEDINGS

### ANNUAL MEETING OF THE SOCIETY, OCTOBER 18, 1933, AT THE LIBRARY OF THE SOCIETY, WORCESTER

THE Annual Meeting of the American Antiquarian Society was held at the Library of the Society, Worcester, Massachusetts, October 18, 1933, at 10.45 o'clock, a. m. The meeting was called to order by the Vice-president, Arthur Prentice Rugg.

The following members of the Society were present: Reuben Colton, Edward Herbert Thompson, John McKinstry Merriam, George Henry Haynes, Clarence Winthrop Bowen, Clarence Saunders Brigham, Julius Herbert Tuttle, Samuel Bayard Woodward, George Hubbard Blakeslee, Arthur Prentice Rugg, Marshall Howard Saville, Wilfred Harold Munro, Shepherd Knapp, Charles Henry Taylor, Herbert Edwin Lombard, Howard Millar Chapin, Thomas Hovey Gage, Lawrence Waters Jenkins, Solon Justus Buck, Isaac Rand Thomas, John Woodbury, Robert Kendall Shaw, Chandler Bullock, Francis Russell Hart, Gardner Weld Allen, Lawrence Counselman Wroth, Wallace Walter Atwood, Daniel Waldo Lincoln, Frank Brewer Bemis, George Sumner Barton, Charles Alpheus Place, Aldus Chapin Higgins, Paul Beagary Morgan, Russell Sturgis Paine, Ralph Earle, James Melville Hunnewell, Charles Seabury Hale, George Crompton, Maxwell Savage, William Davis Miller, Stephen Willard Phillips, Reginald Washburn, Frederick Huntington Gillett, Joseph Henry Sinclair, Robert Stewart Mitchell, Robert William Glenroie Vail, Glenn Tilley Morse, Charles Taylor Tatman, Edward Larocque Tinker, Thomas Winthrop Streeter.

The call for the meeting was read by the Secretary. By the unanimous vote of those present, the reading of the records of the last meeting was omitted.

Mr. Brigham then presented for the Council its report, Mr. Bullock presented the Treasurer's report, and Mr. Vail the report of the Librarian. It was voted to accept the foregoing reports and refer them to the Committee on Publications.

The election of the President being in order, Mr. Gage, for the Council, announced that Mr. Chief Justice Rugg had consented to serve the Society in that capacity. A committee consisting of Messrs. Phillips, Tatman and Place, were appointed to distribute and count ballots, who reported that all the ballots were for Arthur Prentice Rugg and he was declared elected.

The President appointed a committee consisting of Messrs. Merriam, Earle and Tinker to nominate the other officers of the Society, who reported as follows:

#### Vice-presidents

Clarence Winthrop Bowen, LL.D., of New York, N. Y. Charles Henry Taylor, LL.D., of Boston, Mass.

### Councillors

George Parker Winship, Litt.D., of Dover, Mass. William Vail Kellen, LL.D., of Boston, Mass. Paul Beagary Morgan, B.S., of Worcester, Mass. William Evarts Benjamin, of New York, N. Y. George Sumner Barton, A.B., of Worcester, Mass. Aldus Chapin Higgins, Eng.D., of Worcester, Mass. Matt Bushnell Jones, LL.B., of Boston, Mass. Homer Gage, M.D., of Worcester, Mass. Francis Russell Hart, of Boston, Mass.

#### Secretary for Foreign Correspondence

George Hubbard Blakeslee, L.H.D., of Worcester, Mass. 1933.]

# Proceedings

Secretary for Domestic Correspondence

Clarence Saunders Brigham, A.M., of Worcester, Mass.

Recording Secretary

Thomas Hovey Gage, LL.B., of Worcester, Mass.

#### Treasurer

Chandler Bullock, LL.B., of Worcester, Mass.

# Committee on Publications

Clarence Saunders Brigham, A.M., of Worcester, Mass. Julius Herbert Tuttle, of Dedham, Mass. Robert Kendall Shaw, A.B., of Worcester, Mass.

## Auditors

Daniel Waldo Lincoln, LL.B., of Worcester, Mass. Reginald Washburn, A.B., of Worcester, Mass.

A vote was thereupon taken and the foregoing nominees were declared elected.

The Secretary was sworn to the faithful discharge of his duties by Charles T. Tatman, Justice of the Peace.

Mr. Brigham then presented the recommendations of the Council to fill vacancies in the membership of the Society as follows:

### **Resident Members**

William Irving Clark, Worcester, Mass. Winthrop Hillyer Duncan, Brooklyn, N. Y. Norman Morrison Isham, Providence, R. I. Eben Francis Thompson, Worcester, Mass.

The Chair appointed Messrs. Sinclair, Barton and Streeter to distribute and count ballots, who reported that all the votes were for the persons recommended by the Council, and they were declared elected.

}

#### American Antiquarian Society

The following papers were then presented: "The Journal of a Belated Puritan, 1835–1853," by Solon J. Buck, of Pittsburgh, Penn.; "William Gaston, an Old-Fashioned Federalist," by R. D. W. Connor, of Chapel Hill, N. C., read by title; and "Champlain and his Landings at Cape Ann," by Marshall H. Saville, of New York, N. Y. It was voted to refer the papers to the Committee on Publications.

Mr. Brigham called the attention of the members of the Society to the exhibition of important recent accessions in the cases, especially to the Bay Psalm Book, which had been repaired through the generosity of Frank C. Deering.

The meeting then adjourned and the members were entertained at luncheon by Mr. Aldus C. Higgins.

> THOMAS HOVEY GAGE, Recording Secretary

190

Copyright of Proceedings of the American Antiquarian Society is the property of American Antiquarian Society and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use.