Proceedings of the Semi-Annual Meeting

APRIL 17, 1940

AT THE CLUB OF ODD VOLUMES, BOSTON

THE semi-annual meeting of the American Antiquarian Society was held at the Club of Odd Volumes, 77 Mount Vernon Street, Boston, Massachusetts, April 17, 1940, at 10.45 o'clock.

The President of the Society, Samuel Eliot Morison, presided. The following members of the Society were present:

John McKinstry Merriam, George Henry Haynes, George Parker Winship, Daniel Berkeley Updike, Clarence Saunders Brigham, George Hubbard Blakeslee, William Vail Kellen, Shepherd Knapp, Samuel Eliot Morison, Lawrence Waters Jenkins, Chandler Bullock, Charles Eliot Goodspeed, Gardner Weld Allen, George Ichabod Rockwood, William Sumner Appleton. Matt Bushnell Jones, George Sumner Barton, Mark Antony De Wolfe Howe, George Francis Booth, Paul Beagary Morgan, Russell Sturgis Paine, Herbert Joseph Spinden, James Melville Hunnewell, George Crompton, Lemuel Aiken Welles, William Davis Miller, Stephen Willard Phillips, Edward Tuckerman Esty, George Gregerson Wolkins, Howard Corning, Henry Wilder Foote, Allyn Bailey Forbes, Hermann Frederick Clarke, Augustus Peabody Loring, Jr., James Duncan Phillips, Clifford Kenyon Shipton, Alexander Hamilton Bullock, Theron Johnson Damon, Hollis French, Albert White Rice, Fred Tarbell Field, Frederick Lewis Weis, Hamilton Vaughan Bail, Donald McKay Frost, Harry Andrew Wright, Henry Joel Cadbury.

The Secretary read the call for the meeting. It was voted to dispense with the reading of the records of the Annual Meeting of October, 1939. The Director, Clarence S. Brigham, read the report of the Council. It was voted to accept the report and refer it to the Committee on Publications.

The election of new members being in order, the President announced the following recommendations by the Council for membership in the Society.

Henry Joel Cadbury, Cambridge, Mass. Henry Steele Commager, New York, N. Y. Preston Davie, New York, N. Y. Henry Lafavour, Boston, Mass. George Albert Zabriskie, New York, N. Y.

The President appointed Messrs. Miller, Shipton and Corning a committee of three to distribute and collect ballots. The committee reported that a majority of the ballots were for the nominees and they were declared elected.

Papers were then read by Henry Joel Cadbury on "The Libraries of Harvard and of the Mathers," and by Harry Andrew Wright on "Those Human Puritans." The following papers were contributed by title: "The Lexington Alarm," by John H. Scheide; "Nathaniel Evans, Some Works on His Ministry," by Edgar L. Pennington; "David Claypoole Johnston, the American Cruikshank," by Clarence S. Brigham; and "The Berkshire Republican Library at Stockbridge, 1794-1818," by Harry M. Lydenberg. It was voted to refer the papers to the Committee on Publications. The President of the Society spoke informally, but interestingly and authoritatively, on certain features of Columbus' navigation.

The Society was then invited to luncheon, by Mr. Henry Hornblower, at the Club of Odd Volumes.

> George H. Blakeslee, Secretary

2

Copyright of Proceedings of the American Antiquarian Society is the property of American Antiquarian Society and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use.