PROCEEDINGS

ANNUAL MEETING OF THE SOCIETY, OCTOBER 21, 1936, AT THE LIBRARY OF THE SOCIETY, WORCESTER

THE Annual Meeting of the American Antiquarian Society was held at the Library of the Society, Worcester, Massachusetts, October 21, 1936, at 10.45 o'clock, a. m. The meeting was called to order by the President, Arthur Prentice Rugg.

The following members of the Society were present: John McKinstry Merriam, George Henry Havnes. George Parker Winship, Clarence Saunders Brigham, George Hubbard Blakeslee, William Vail Kellen, Arthur Prentice Rugg, Shepherd Knapp, Albert Carlos Bates, Charles Henry Taylor, Thomas Hovey Gage. Lawrence Waters Jenkins, John Woodbury, Robert Kendall Shaw, Francis Russell Hart, Gardner Weld Allen, George Ichabod Rockwood, Lawrence Counselman Wroth, Matt Bushnell Jones, Andrew Keogh, Daniel Waldo Lincoln, Charles Alpheus Place, George Francis Booth, Paul Beagary Morgan, Russell Sturgis Paine, Thomas James Holmes, James Melville Hunnewell, George Crompton, Lemuel Aiken Welles, Maxwell Savage, William Davis Miller, Stephen Willard Phillips, Wilbur Macey Stone, Stewart Mitchell, Robert William Glenroie Vail, Glenn Tilley Morse, Charles Taylor Tatman, Samuel Flagg Bemis, Thomas Winthrop Streeter, William Irving Clark, Eben Francis Thompson, Valentine Hollingsworth, Hermann Frederick Clarke, Julian Parks Boyd, Francis Henshaw Dewey.

The call for the meeting was read by the Secretary.

116

By the unanimous vote of those present, the reading of the records of the last meeting was omitted.

The report of the Council of the Society was presented by the Director, Mr. Brigham; the Treasurer's report by Mr. Bullock; and the Librarian's report by Mr. Vail. It was voted to accept these reports and refer them to the Committee on Publications.

The President appointed Messrs. Streeter, Boyd and Stone a committee to distribute, collect and count ballots for President, who reported that all the votes cast were for Arthur Prentice Rugg and he was declared elected.

The President appointed a committee, consisting of Messrs. Hart, Jenkins and Bates, to nominate other officers, who reported as follows:

Vice-presidents

Charles Henry Taylor, LL.D., of Boston, Mass. William Vail Kellen, LL.D., of Boston, Mass.

Councillors

George Parker Winship, Litt.D., of Dover, Mass. Paul Beagary Morgan, B.S., of Worcester, Mass. William Evarts Benjamin, of New York, N. Y. George Sumner Barton, A.B., of Worcester, Mass. Aldus Chapin Higgins, Eng.D., of Worcester, Mass. Matt Bushnell Jones, Litt.D., of Boston, Mass. Homer Gage, M.D., of Worcester, Mass. Francis Russell Hart, of Boston, Mass. James Melville Hunnewell, LL.B., of Boston, Mass.

Secretary for Foreign Correspondence

George Hubbard Blakeslee, LL.D., of Worcester, Mass.

Seceretary for Domestic Correspondence

Clarence Saunders Brigham, Litt.D., of Worcester, Mass. 1936.]

Proceedings

Recording Secretary

Thomas Hovey Gage, LL.B., of Worcester, Mass.

Treasurer

Chandler Bullock, LL.B., of Worcester, Mass.

Committee on Publications

Clarence Saunders Brigham, Litt.D., of Worcester, Mass.

Julius Herbert Tuttle, of Dedham, Mass.

Robert Kendall Shaw, A.B., of Worcester, Mass.

Auditors

Daniel Waldo Lincoln, LL.B., of Worcester, Mass. Reginald Washburn, A.B., of Worcester, Mass.

It was unanimously voted that the Secretary be requested to cast a ballot for officers, which being done and no other ballot being offered, the foregoing nominees were declared elected.

The Secretary was sworn to the faithful discharge of his duties by Mr. Merriam.

The Director, in behalf of the Council, then proposed for membership in the Society:

Resident Members

Lathrop Colgate Harper, New York, N. Y. Augustus Peabody Loring, Jr., Boston, Mass. James Duncan Phillips, Topsfield, Mass. George Dudley Seymour, New Haven, Conn. Earl Gregg Swem, Williamsburg, Va. Samuel Mackay Wilson, Lexington, Ky.

The President announced a committee, consisting of Messrs. Mitchell, Keogh and Clark, to distribute, collect and count ballots for new members, who reported that all ballots were for the persons nominated and they were delcared elected.

[Oct.,

Mr. Hermann F. Clarke then presented a paper on "John Hull, Colonial Merchant," and Mr. Stephen W. Phillips a paper on "The Mutiny on the Ship 'Globe' and its Consequences." The latter paper was read rather than contributed for publication, but may eventually be printed in the Proceedings. The following papers were contributed by title: "Connecticut's Engraved Bills of Credit, 1709-1746," by Albert C. Bates; "Justus Engelhardt Kühn, an Early Eighteenth Century Maryland Portrait Painter," by J. Hall Pleasants; and "The Reverend George Ross," by Edgar Legare Pennington. It was voted to refer the papers to the Committee on Publications.

The meeting then adjourned and the members were entertained at luncheon by Mr. Paul Beagary Morgan at his house, 21 Cedar Street.

> THOMAS HOVEY GAGE, Recording Secretary

Copyright of Proceedings of the American Antiquarian Society is the property of American Antiquarian Society and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use.