# PROCEEDINGS

### ANNUAL MEETING OF THE SOCIETY, OCTOBER 16, 1935, AT THE LIBRARY OF THE SOCIETY, WORCESTER

THE Annual Meeting of the American Antiquarian Society was held at the Library of the Society, Worcester, Massachusetts, October 16, 1935, at 10.45 o'clock, a. m. The meeting was called to order by the President, Arthur Prentice Rugg.

The following members of the Society were present: John McKinstry Merriam, George Henry Haynes, Clarence Saunders Brigham, Samuel Bayard Woodward, William Vail Kellen, Arthur Prentice Rugg, Shepherd Knapp, Homer Gage, Charles Henry Taylor, Herbert Edwin Lombard, Samuel Eliot Morison. Thomas Hovey Gage, Charles Knowles Bolton, Robert Kendall Shaw, Chandler Bullock, Gardner Weld Allen, George Ichabod Rockwood, Lawrence Counselman Wroth, Matt Bushnell Jones, Andrew Keogh, Waldo Gifford Leland, Daniel Waldo Lincoln, Bernard Fay, George Sumner Barton, Thomas Bonaventure Lawler, Charles Alpheus Place, George Francis Booth. Aldus Chapin Higgins, Paul Beagary Morgan, Ralph Earle, James Melville Hunnewell, Chester Noyes Greenough, Charles Seabury Hale, George Crompton, Lemuel Aiken Welles, Stephen Willard Phillips, Edward Tuckerman Esty, Reginald Washburn, Robert Stewart Mitchell, Robert William Glenroie Vail. Glenn Tilley Morse, Charles Taylor Tatman, Samuel Flagg Bemis, William Irving Clark, Eben Francis Thompson, George Gregerson Wolkins, Allyn Bailey

Forbes, Valentine Hollingsworth, Philip Ainsworth Means.

The call for the meeting was read by the Secretary. By the unanimous vote of those present, the reading of the records of the last meeting was omitted.

The report of the Council of the Society was presented by the Director, Mr. Brigham; the Treasurer's report by Mr. Bullock; and the Librarian's report by Mr. Vail. It was voted to accept these reports and refer them to the Committee on Publications.

The President appointed Messrs. Merriam, Hunnewell and Leland a committee to distribute, collect and count ballots for President, who reported that all the votes cast were for Arthur Prentice Rugg and he was declared elected.

The President appointed a committee, consisting of Messrs. Knapp, Bolton and Morse, to nominate other officers, who reported as follows:

### Vice-presidents

Clarence Winthrop Bowen, LL.D., of New York, N. Y. Charles Henry Taylor, LL.D., of Boston, Mass.

### Councillors

George Parker Winship, Litt.D., of Dover, Mass. William Vail Kellen, LL.D., of Boston, Mass. Paul Beagary Morgan, B.S., of Worcester, Mass. William Evarts Benjamin, of New York, N. Y. George Sumner Barton, A.B., of Worcester, Mass. Aldus Chapin Higgins, Eng.D., of Worcester, Mass. Matt Bushnell Jones, LL.B., of Boston, Mass. Homer Gage, M.D., of Worcester, Mass. Francis Russell Hart, of Boston, Mass.

### Secretary for Foreign Correspondence

George Hubbard Blakeslee, L.H.D., of Worcester, Mass.

#### Proceedings

Secretary for Domestic Correspondence

Clarence Saunders Brigham, Litt.D., of Worcester, Mass.

**Recording Secretary** 

Thomas Hovey Gage, LL.B., of Worcester, Mass.

Treasurer

Chandler Bullock, LL.B., of Worcester, Mass.

# Committee on Publications

Clarence Saunders Brigham, Litt.D., of Worcester, Mass.

Julius Herbert Tuttle, of Dedham, Mass.

Robert Kendall Shaw, A.B., of Worcester, Mass.

# Auditors

Daniel Waldo Lincoln, LL.B., of Worcester, Mass. Reginald Washburn, A.B., of Worcester, Mass.

It was unanimously voted that the Secretary be requested to cast a ballot for officers, which being done and no other ballot being offered, the foregoing nominees were declared elected.

The Secretary was sworn to the faithful discharge of his duties by Charles T. Tatman, a Justice of the Peace.

The Director, in behalf of the Council, then proposed for membership in the Society:

#### Resident Members

Thomas Barbour, Boston, Mass.

Hermann Frederick Clarke, Boston, Mass.

Tracy William McGregor, Washington, D. C.

The President announced a committee, consisting of Messrs. Forbes, Esty and Wolkins, to distribute, collect and count ballots for new members, who reported that all ballots were for the persons nominated and they were declared elected. Mr. Stewart Mitchell then presented a paper on "Four Legends about President Polk" and Mr. Chester N. Greenough presented a paper on "New England Almanacs and the American Revolution." Mr. Vail contributed by title a "Checklist of New England Election Sermons." A paper from Mr. J. C. L. Clark, of Lancaster, Mass., upon "Dr. Samuel Stearns" was accepted for publication. It was voted to refer the papers to the Committee on Publications.

The meeting then adjourned and the members were entertained at luncheon by Mr. George Sumner Barton at Barlin Farms, Boylston.

> THOMAS HOVEY GAGE, Recording Secretary

Copyright of Proceedings of the American Antiquarian Society is the property of American Antiquarian Society and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use.