Proceedings

1923.]

PROCEEDINGS

ANNUAL MEETING OF THE SOCIETY, OCTOBER 17, 1923, AT THE HALL OF THE SOCIETY, WORCESTER

THE Annual Meeting of the American Antiquarian Society was held pursuant to notice at Antiquarian Hall, Worcester, October 17, 1923, at ten forty-five o'clock, a. m. The meeting was called to order by President Lincoln.

The following members of the Society were present:

Reuben Colton, Augustus George Bullock, William Eaton Foster, Francis Henshaw Dewey, Thomas Corwin Mendenhall, William Trowbridge Forbes, Charles Lemuel Nichols, Waldo Lincoln, George Parker Winship, Benjamin Thomas Hill, Clarence Winthrop Bowen, Clarence Saunders Brigham, Worthington Chauncey Ford, Julius Herbert Tuttle, Charles Grenfil Washburn, Samuel Bayard Woodward, George Hubbard Blakeslee, William Vail Kellen, Marshall Howard Saville, Samuel Morris Conant, Henry Winchester Cunningham, Frank Farnum Dresser, Rev. Shepherd Knapp, Rev. Herbert Edwin Lombard, Grenville Howland Norcross, Thomas Hovey Gage, John Whittemore Farwell, Rev. Henry Bradford Washburn, Leonard Wheeler, Alexander George McAdie, George Anthony Gaskill, John Woodbury, Alfred Lawrence Aiken, John Henry Edmonds, Robert Kendall Shaw, William Gwinn Mather, Fred Norris Robinson, Chandler Bullock, Charles Eliot Goodspeed, Rev. George Foot Moore, Alfred Johnson, Lawrence Counselman Wroth.

The call for the meeting was read by the Secretary.

It was voted to dispense with the reading of the records of the previous meeting.

The report of the Council of the Society was read by President Lincoln; the report of the Treasurer was presented by Dr. Woodward and the report of the Librarian by Mr. Brigham. It was voted to accept these reports and to refer them to the Committee of Publication.

The election of officers being in order, the President appointed Messrs. Cunningham, Chandler Bullock and Johnson a committee to distribute and collect ballots for President, which committee reported that all the ballots were for Waldo Lincoln, and he was declared elected.

The President appointed Messrs. Winship, Kellen and McAdie a committee to nominate the remaining officers of the Society. This committee presented the following nominations:

Vice-Presidents

Arthur Prentice Rugg, LL.D., of Worcester, Mass. Clarence Winthrop Bowen, LL.D., of New York, N. Y.

Councillors

Samuel Utley, LL.B., of Worcester, Mass.

Charles Grenfill Washburn, A.B., of Worcester, Mass. Francis Henshaw Dewey, A.M., of Worcester, Mass.

Henry Winchester Cunningham, A.B., of Milton, Mass.

George Parker Winship, Litt.D., of Dover, Mass.

William Howard Taft, LL.D., of New Haven, Conn. George Hubbard Blakeslee, Ph.D., of Worcester, Mass.

Clarence Saunders Brigham, A.M., of Worcester, Mass.

James Benjamin Wilbur, of Manchester, Vt. Samuel Lyman Munson, of Albany, N. Y.

Secretary for Foreign Correspondence

Charles Lemuel Nichols, M.D., Litt.D., of Worcester, Mass.

Proceedings

1923.]

Secretary for Domestic Correspondence

Worthington Chauncey Ford, LL.D., of Cambridge, Mass.

Recording Secretary

Thomas Hovey Gage, A.M., of Worcester, Mass.

Treasurer

Samuel Bayard Woodward, M.D., of Worcester, Mass.

Committee of Publication

George Henry Haynes. Ph.D., of Worcester, Mass. Julius Herbert Tuttle, of Dedham, Mass.

John Henry Edmonds, of Boston, Mass.

Clarence Saunders Brigham, A.M., of Worcester, Mass.

Auditors

Benjamin Thomas Hill, A.B., of Worcester, Mass. Homer Gage, M.D., of Worcester, Mass.

On motion of William T. Forbes, no one objecting, it was voted that all persons who desired to vote for the election of officers, other than the President, deposit their ballots on the President's table. All the ballots so deposited were for the persons nominated and they were declared elected.

The Secretary announced that the Council made the following recommendations for membership:

Resident Member

John B. Stetson, Jr., of Elkins Park, Penn.

Foreign Members

Adam Shortt, of Ottawa, Canada.

Henry Newton Stevens, of London, England.

The President appointed Messrs. Tuttle and Goodspeed to distribute and collect ballots for the election of new members to the Society, who reported that all the ballots were in favor of the persons nominated and they were declared elected. The Secretary was sworn to the faithful discharge of his duties by Francis H. Dewey, a Justice of the Peace.

On motion of Dr. Nichols, it was voted that the Treasurer be and he is hereby authorized, with the consent of the Finance Committee, to borrow money on the credit of the Society.

On motion of Mr. Cunningham, it was voted to amend the first section of Article VII. of the By-laws so that it shall read:

"The members of the Society, residing in the United States of America, shall at no time exceed two hundred."

The following papers were than presented: "The Voyages of Grijalva and Cortes to the Mexican Coast in 1518-1519,"¹ by Marshall H. Saville, of New York; and "Notes on Richard Mather's 'Church Government,' 1643," written by Thomas J. Holmes of Cleveland and read by William G. Mather, of Cleveland. Mr. John H. Edmonds of Boston presented some notes on the portraits recently given to the Society by Mrs. Frederick Lewis Gay. It was voted to refer these papers to the Committee of Publication.

In addition to these papers, Mr. Alfred L. Aiken of Worcester spoke upon "Alexander Hamilton and the Public Debt," although his paper was not intended for publication.

The President called the attention of the Society to a portrait of Mr. Hoar, a former President of the Society, the purchase of which was under consideration.

There being no further business, the Society adjourned to luncheon in the new stack room.

THOMAS HOVEY GAGE, Recording Secretary

¹Mr. Saville's paper will be printed in the next number of the Proceedings.

230

Report of the Council

REPORT OF THE COUNCIL

Since the last meeting of the Society two deaths of resident members have occurred, Merrick Lincoln of Worcester, elected in April, 1920, died at Portland, Maine, on September 2, and William Roscoe Thayer of Cambridge, elected in April, 1919, died on September 7, at Cambridge. Brief memoirs of them will be prepared for the printed Proceedings.

News of the deaths of two foreign members has only recently reached the Society. Manuel Vicente Ballivián of La Paz, Bolivia, elected to the Society in 1910, died August 7, 1921. He was born at Arequipa in Peru June 18, 1848. Educated in Europe, he returned to Bolivia where he became much interested in historical and geographical studies. He was successively professor at the University of La Paz, chief of the Bolivian Office of Immigration, Statistics and Geography, Secretary of Agriculture and the Colonies, and President of the Geographical Society of La Paz. He was a delegate to many scientific congresses, and was one of the best known of South American historians.

Eduard Seler of Berlin, elected to the Society in 1910, died November 23, 1922. He was born December 5, 1849 at Crossen in Prussia, and at length became connected with the Museum of Ethnology at Berlin, of which he finally became one of the directors. He was especially interested in the study of Mexican and South American archaeology, ethnography and linguistics, and became one of the leading authorities in the world in these subjects. Necrological sketches of both Ballivián and Seler are to be found in the Copyright of Proceedings of the American Antiquarian Society is the property of American Antiquarian Society and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use.