Proceedings.

1915.]

PROCEEDINGS.

ANNUAL MEETING OF THE SOCIETY, OCTOBER 20, 1915. AT THE HALL OF THE SOCIETY, WORCESTER.

The annual meeting of the Society was called to order in Antiquarian Hall by President Lincoln at 10.45 o'clock, on Wednesday morning, October 20, 1915.

The following members were present:

Edmund Mills Barton, Samuel Swett Green. Andrew McFarland Davis, Reuben Colton, Henry Herbert Edes, James Phinney Baxter, Augustus George Bullock, William Eaton Foster, Francis Henshaw Dewey, Simeon Eben Baldwin, William Trowbridge Forbes, George Henry Haynes, Arthur Lord, Charles Lemuel Nichols, Waldo Lincoln, Edward Sylvester Morse, George Parker Winship, Austin Samuel Garver, Samuel Utley, Benjamin Thomas Hill, Albert Matthews, William MacDonald, Clarence Winthrop Bowen, Daniel Berkeley Updike, Clarence Saunders Brigham, Lincoln Newton Kinnicutt, Franklin Pierce Rice, Worthington Chauncey Ford, Julius Herbert Tuttle, Charles Grenfill Washburn, Samuel Bayard Woodward, George Hubbard Blakeslee, Wilfred Harold Munro, Henry Winchester Cunningham, Frank Farnum Dresser, Shepherd Knapp, George Francis Dow, Homer Gage, John Spencer Bassett, Charles Henry Taylor, Jr., Lyon Gardner Tyler, Herbert Edwin Lombard, Howard Millar Chapin, Samuel Eliot Morison, Grenville Howland

Norcross, Thomas Hovey Gage, Otis Grant Hammond, John Whittemore Farwell, Samuel Hart, Ira Nelson Hollis, Lawrence Waters Jenkins, Henry Bradford Washburn, Leonard Wheeler.

The call for the meeting was read by the Secretary, and on motion of Mr. Edes it was voted to omit the reading of the records of the last meeting.

The report of the Council, prepared by the President, that of the Treasurer, Mr. Bullock, and the Librarian's report were each read, and on motion these reports were accepted as the report of the Council to the Society and referred to the Committee of Publication.

The Secretary reported a list of persons recommended by the Council for election to membership. Messrs. Tuttle and T. H. Gage were appointed a committee to distribute and count the ballots, and the following persons were elected:

Resident Members

John Woolf Jordan of Philadelphia, Penn. Alexander George McAdie of Milton, Mass.

Foreign Member

Rt. Hon. Sir George Otto Trevelyan of London, England.

Messrs. Edes, Knapp and Winship were appointed a committee to distribute and count the ballots for President of the Society and they reported the reelection of Waldo Lincoln by a unanimous vote.

Messrs. Lord, Bowen and Norcross were appointed a committee on nominations for the other offices to be filled at the meeting and they presented the following list: 1915.]

Vice-Presidents:

Samuel Abbott Green, LL.D., of Groton, Mass. Andrew McFarland Davis, A.M., of Cambridge, Mass.

Councillors:

Nathaniel Paine, A.M., of Worcester, Mass.

Samuel Swett Green, A.M., of Worcester, Mass. Granville Stanley Hall, LL.D., of Worcester, Mass. Samuel Utley, LL.B., of Worcester, Mass.

Arthur Prentice Rugg, LL.D., of Worcester, Mass. Charles Grenfill Washburn, A.B., of Worcester, Mass.

Francis Henshaw Dewey, A.M., of Worcester, Mass. Henry Winchester Cunningham, A.B., of Manchester, Mass.

Clarence Winthrop Bowen, Ph.D., of New York, N. Y.

George Parker Winship, A.M., of Cambridge, Mass.

Secretary for Foreign Correspondence:

James Phinney Baxter, Litt.D., of Portland, Me.

Secretary for Domestic Correspondence:

Worthington Chauncey Ford, A.M., of Boston, Mass.

Recording Secretary:

Charles Lemuel Nichols, M.D., of Worcester, Mass.

Treasurer:

Augustus George Bullock, A.M., of Worcester, Mass.

Committee of Publication:

Franklin Pierce Rice, of Worcester, Mass. George Henry Haynes, Ph.D., of Worcester, Mass. Charles Lemuel Nichols, M.D., of Worcester, Mass. Julius Herbert Tuttle, of Dedham, Mass. Benjamin Thomas Hill, A.B., of Worcester, Mass. Homer Gage, M.D., of Worcester, Mass.

The report of this committee was accepted and after ballot, the officers thus nominated were elected for the ensuing year, the oath being administered to the Clerk by Judge Forbes.

The following papers were read:

"Franklin and the Rule of Free Ships, Free Goods," by Simeon E. Baldwin of New Haven, Connecticut.

"Virginia's Contribution to Science," by Lyon G. Tyler, of Williamsburg, Virginia.

"Indian Myths of the Northwest," by William D. Lyman, of Walla Walla, Washington.

The last paper was read by title. It was moved that these papers be referred to the Committee of Publication.

The President referred to the fact that the rotunda room was used as the place of meeting and hoped that the tapestries which were hung in the four panels would render the acoustic properties of the Hall much better, as had been suggested by Professor Sabine of Harvard College.

The President invited the members of the Society to luncheon at his house, 49 Elm Street, at the close of the meeting. The meeting was then dissolved.

CHARLES LEMUEL NICHOLS, Recording Secretary.

 $\mathbf{298}$

Copyright of Proceedings of the American Antiquarian Society is the property of American Antiquarian Society and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use.