Proceedings of the Annual Meeting

остовек 16, 1963

AT THE LIBRARY OF THE SOCIETY, WORCESTER

THE one hundred and fifty-first annual meeting of the American Antiquarian Society was held at the Library of the Society, Worcester, Massachusetts, October 16, 1963 at 10:45 a.m. The meeting was called to order by Carleton Rubira Richmond.

The following members were present: John Alden, Rodney Armstrong, Karl John Richard Arndt, Hamilton Vaughan Bail, Clifton Waller Barrett, George Sumner Barton, James Franklin Beard, Whitfield Jenks Bell, Mark Bortman, Carl Bridenbaugh, Augustus George Bullock, Lyman Henry Butterfield, Henry Joel Cadbury, Ernest Caulfield, Edward Harold Cole, John Whitin Curtis, Samuel Foster Damon, Theron Johnson Damon, Fred Harold Daniels, Ernest Stanley Dodge, Linwood Mandeville Erskine, Jr., Paris Fletcher, Esther Forbes, Malcolm Freiberg, Pierce Welch Gaines, Ebenezer Gay, Bradley Baldwin Gilman, Richard Gimbel, George Talbot Goodspeed, Richard Walden Hale, Jr., Edward Pierce Hamilton, Thompson Ritner Harlow, Frank Leighton Harrington, William Henry Harrison, Richard Allen Heald, Milton Prince Higgins, Sinclair Hamilton Hitchings, Harold Hugo, Howard Bonar Jefferson, John Jeppson, 2nd, Alden Porter Johnson, Howard Mumford Jones, Edward Chase Kirkland, Edward Connery Lathem, Daniel Waldo Lincoln, Bertram Kimball Little, Marcus Allen McCorison, Keyes DeWitt Metcalf, Samuel

Eliot Morison, Ray Nash, Andrew Oliver, Howard Henry Peckham, Hermann Porter Riccius, Albert White Rice, Carleton Rubira Richmond, Stephen Thomas Riley, Ivan Sandrof, Clifford Kenyon Shipton, Willman Spawn, Rae MacCollum Spencer, Lewis Morgrage Stark, George Russell Stobbs, Thomas Winthrop Streeter, Bradford Fuller Swan, Charles van Ravenswaay, Henry Rouse Viets, Carl Erhard Wahlstrom, Albert Goodnow Waite, Alexander James Wall, Michael Joseph Walsh, Frederick Lewis Weis, Ernest James Wessen, Nathaniel Wheeler, and Walter Muir Whitehill.

The call to the meeting was read by Daniel W. Lincoln, Secretary, but it was voted to dispense with the reading of the records of the last meeting, since they had been printed. The Report of the Council of the Society was presented by the Director and the Librarian's Report by Mr. McCorison. Mr. Bullock made a brief report on the state of the treasury. It was voted to accept these reports and refer them to the Committee on Publications.

The election of officers being in order, Mr. Fletcher reported for the nominating committee, consisting of Messrs. Fletcher, Gilman and Stobbs, appointed by the Council in April. 1962, the following nominations: President, Carleton Rubira Richmond: Vice-presidents, George Sumner Barton and Clifton Waller Barrett; Councillors, Albert White Rice, Thomas Winthrop Streeter, Richard Allen Heald, Edward Larocque Tinker, Walter Muir Whitehill, Harry Galpin Stoddard, Keyes DeWitt Metcalf, Fred Harold Daniels, Frank Leighton Harrington, and John Jeppson, 2nd:Secretary for Foreign Correspondence, Alden Porter Johnson; Secretary for Domestic Correspondence, Clifford Kenyon Shipton; Recording Secretary, Daniel Waldo Lincoln; Treasurer, Augustus George Bullock; Committee on Publications, Alden Porter Johnson, Rae MacCollum Spencer

326

and Marcus Allen McCorison; Auditors, Daniel Waldo Lincoln and Bradley Baldwin Gilman; Director, Clifford Kenyon Shipton; Librarian, Marcus Allen McCorison.

It was unanimously voted that the Secretary be requested to cast a ballot for the nominees, and this being done, with no other nominations being offered, the foregoing nominees were declared elected.

Mr. Shipton, on behalf of the Council, proposed for membership in the Society: Warren Gilbert Davis, of Worcester; Milton Wheaton Hamilton, of Albany, New York; Hudson Hoagland, of Southborough; Albert Edgar Lownes, of Providence, R. I.; Wallace Woodsome Robbins, of Worcester; Robert Waring Stoddard, of Worcester; and Alexander Orr Vietor, of New Haven, Conn.

The President appointed a committee, consisting of Charles van Ravenswaay and John W. Curtis to distribute, collect, and count the ballots. Mr. Curtis reported that seventyone votes had been cast for the persons nominated, and they were declared elected. Papers were read by Ernest J. Wessen, of Mansfield, Ohio, on "John Delafield and His Archaeological Hoax," and by Alexander J. Wall, Jr., of Sturbridge, on "William Bradford, Colonial Printer."

The President announced that members of the Society and guests were invited to luncheon at the residence of Mr. and Mrs. Fred Harold Daniels, 190 Salisbury Street. There being no further business, the meeting was then adjourned.

> Respectfully submitted, DANIEL W. LINCOLN, Recording Secretary

1963.]

Copyright of Proceedings of the American Antiquarian Society is the property of American Antiquarian Society and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use.