Proceedings of the Annual Meeting

OCTOBER 21, 1987 GODDARD-DANIELS HOUSE WORCESTER

THE ONE HUNDRED SEVENTY-FIFTH annual meeting of the American Antiquarian Society was held at the Society's Goddard-Daniels House in Worcester, Massachusetts, on Wednesday, October 21, 1987, at 3:05 p.m. The following members attended the meeting or other activities connected with the Society's one hundred seventy-fifth anniversary celebration: Robert Comey Achorn, Thomas Randolph Adams, Ruth Elizabeth Adomeit, Mortimer Herbert Appley, Charles Beach Barlow, Philip Charles Beals, Ross Worn Beales, Jr., James Franklin Beard, Jr., William Bentinck-Smith, George Athan Billias, William Henry Bond, John Brademas, John Edward Brooks, Richard David Brown, Douglas Wallace Bryant, Augustus George Bullock, Harold Cabot, Kenneth Edward Carpenter, William Robert Coleman, Jill Kathryn Ker Conway, Richard Arthur Crawford, Edward Denis Crowley, Robert Cushman, John Whitin Curtis, Bruce Goddard Daniels, Hagop Martin Deranian, Francis Henshaw Dewey III, Henry Bowen Dewey, Dorothy Brewer Erikson, Linwood Mandeville Erskine, Jr., Joseph Worth Estes, Daniel Farber, Frederick Breakspear Farrar, Rudy John Favretti, Norman Sanford Fiering, Percy William Filby, Paris Fletcher, Ralph William Franklin, Howard Gilbert Freeman, Julie Chase Fuller, Robert Alan Gross, Otto Vincent Gustafson, Warren James Haas, Robert Palmer Hallock, Frank Leighton Harrington, Jr., Ernest Spero Hayeck, George William Hazzard, James Nichols Heald, 2nd, Howell Johnson Heaney, John Bixler Hench, Frederick Williams Hequembourg, Sinclair Hamilton Hitchings, Herbert Henry

Hosmer, Frederick Herbert Jackson, M Howard Jacobson, John Jeppson, 2nd, Minna Flynn Johnson, Kenneth Schwalm Jones, Alvin M. Josephy, Jr., William Leonard Joyce, Stanley Nider Katz, Elliott Burris Knowlton, Karen Ordahl Kupperman, Saundra Baker Lane, Julian Lee Lapides, Crawford Lincoln, Mason Ira Lowance, Jr., John Morris McClelland, Jr., Marcus Allen McCorison, James Robert Maguire, Charles Ellis Mason, Jr., Donald Robert Melville, Amy Bess Williams Miller, Harold Taylor Miller, Anne Murray Morgan, Kenneth James Moynihan, Kenneth Nebenzahl, Stephen Willner Nissenbaum, Calvin Peter Otto, Arthur Michael Pappas, Hall James Peterson, William Oscar Pettit, Jr., Nathan Reingold, Stephen Thomas Riley, Wallace Woodsome Robbins, Natalie Johnson Roderick, Morris Harold Saffron, Duane Thomas Sargisson, Charles Henry Sawyer, John Edward Sawyer, Leonard Benjamin Schlosser, Hope Hartwell Spear, Richard Charles Steele, Roderick Douglas Stinehour, Helen Estabrook Stoddard, Roger Eliot Stoddard, William Francis Sullivan, Charles Joseph Tanenbaum, George Thomas Tanselle, David Frederic Tatham, Sumner Burnham Tilton, Jr., Louis Leonard Tucker, Francis Gustaf Walett, Alexander James Wall, Jr., Wilcomb Edward Washburn, Glenn Weaver, Edwin Wolf, 2nd, John Clark Woodbury, and John Munro Woolsey, Jr.

President Jeppson presided. The reading of the minutes of the meeting held April 15, 1987, was waived. President Jeppson reported the following changes in the membership:

Harold Stein Jantz, died February 27, 1987 Rodman Wilson Paul, died May 15, 1987 Stephen Guild Kurtz, resigned June 28, 1987 Charles Harris Wesley, died August 16, 1987 Jacob Israel Zeitlin, died August 30, 1987 John Daniel Cushing, died September 16, 1987 John Howland Gibbs Pell, died October 13, 1987 Donald Edward Graham, resigned October 16, 1987

Proceedings

In asking for a moment of silence in memory of the deceased members, Mr. Jeppson pointed out that Mr. Pell had been the senior member of the Society, having been elected in April 1930.

The report of the Council was presented by Mr. McCorison and the report of the Treasurer by Mr. Daniels. The report of the Treasurer was accepted by vote.

The following persons were elected by ballot to membership in the Society with Mrs. Erikson and Mr. Hench acting as tellers: John Weston Adams, Harry Andrew Blackmun, Mary Valentine Crowley Callahan, Edward Carlos Carter II, Robert Edgar Cazden, Ernest Wayne Craven, Charles Thomas Cullen, Natalie Zemon Davis, Everette Eugene Dennis, Elizabeth Lewisohn Eisenstein, James Harley Harrington, Hugh Wiley Hitchcock, Ricky Jay, Paul Markham Kahn, Jay Taylor Last, Saundra Lynn Swickard Myres, Stephen Baery Oates, Paul Revere O'Connell, Jr., Nell Irvin Painter, Penelope Booth Rockwell, Donald Moore Scott, Kevin Starr, and Jean-Pierre Wallot.

President Jeppson reported that the Isaiah Thomas Fund campaign had been successfully completed with contributions and pledges now exceeding the goal for the fund.

Mr. Woolsey presented the report of the Committee on Nominations as follows: President, Jill Kathryn Ker Conway; Vice-Presidents, Roderick Douglas Stinehour, Harold Taylor Miller; Treasurer, Bruce Goddard Daniels; Recording Secretary, Linwood Mandeville Erskine, Jr.; Secretary for Domestic Correspondence, Philip Charles Beals; Secretary for Foreign Correspondence, Henry Schofield Streeter; Councillors, John Jeppson, 2nd, Richard Charles Steele, George Thomas Tanselle, William Henry Bond, Jules David Prown, Robert Cushman, Robert Palmer Hallock, Jr., Jacob Hiatt, Julian Lee Lapides, Pauline Rubbelke Maier, David Frederic Tatham, John Munro Woolsey, Jr., James Robert Maguire, Betty Ruth Ring, and Barbara Welch Sudler.

There being no further nominations, it was voted to accept the report and to elect the slate as nominated.

The following resolution adopted by the Council in honor of retiring President Jeppson was read by President Conway and adopted unanimously:

WHEREAS JOHN JEPPSON, 2nd, industrialist, useful citizen, and valued friend, has been an enthusiastic and generous member of the American Antiquarian Society since October 1961; and whereas

JOHN JEPPSON attended faithfully and perceptively to the affairs of our Society as a Councillor from 1963 until 1964 and again from 1969 until 1973, and as Vice-President from 1964 until 1969 and from 1973 until 1977; and whereas

JOHN JEPPSON provided dynamic leadership to the Society through his exemplary service as our President from October 19, 1977, until this very day, a time of dramatic improvement in our ability to affect the course of American historical scholarship; and whereas

JOHN JEPPSON now places in other hands the high office that he has held with great distinction; now therefore

BE IT RESOLVED that the Council and Members of the American Antiquarian Society do herewith give our profound gratitude to our distinguished colleague for his extraordinarily effective service, wish him Godspeed and good weather to make his gardens grow, remind him of our affection for him, and give thanks that we shall continue to receive his sound advice, profit from his wisdom, and suffer his witticisms; and upon the records of the Society let this resolution be inscribed and to JOHN JEPPSON, 2nd, let these sentiments be made known.

Mr. McCorison outlined the remaining events in connection with the 175th anniversary of the Society, which included a reception at Antiquarian Hall and a dinner at Mechanics Hall later in the day, a convocation, luncheon, and symposium to be held on Thursday, October 22, and a dress ball to be held on Friday, October 23.

The meeting adjourned at 4:03 p.m.

Linwood M. Erskine, Jr. *Recording Secretary* Copyright of Proceedings of the American Antiquarian Society is the property of American Antiquarian Society and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use.