Proceedings of the Semiannual Meeting

APRIL 15, 1987 BOSTON PUBLIC LIBRARY

THE SEMIANNUAL meeting of the American Antiquarian Society was held in the Rabb Lecture Hall of the Boston Public Library, Boston, Massachusetts, on Wednesday, April 15, 1987, at 10:30 A.M. with the following members present: Rodney Armstrong, Charles Beach Barlow, Philip Charles Beals, George Athan Billias, William Henry Bond, Mary Elizabeth Brown, Jill Ker Conway, Edward Denis Crowley, Bruce Goddard Daniels, Henry Bowen Dewey, Linwood Mandeville Erskine, Jr., Joseph Worth Estes, Timothy Carter Forbes, Donald Richard Friary, Ebenezer Gay, Loren Frank Ghiglione, George Talbot Goodspeed, Otto Vincent Gustafson, Robert Palmer Hallock, John Bixler Hench, Frederick Herbert Jackson, John Jeppson, 2nd, Minna Flynn Johnson, Milton Martin Klein, Frank Leighton Harrington, Jr., Crawford Lincoln, Mason Ira Lowance, Jr., Neil MacNeil, Pauline Rubbelke Maier, Marcus Allen McCorison, Philip James McNiff, Harold Taylor Miller, Calvin Peter Otto, Hall James Peterson, William Oscar Pettit, Jr., Stephen Thomas Riley, Betty Ruth Ring, Samuel Robert Rosenthal, Robert Allen Rutland, Willman Spawn, Hope Hartwell Spear, Roderick Douglas Stinehour, Helen Estabrook Stoddard, Roger Eliot Stoddard, Henry Schofield Streeter, Barbara Welch Sudler, David Frederic Tatham, James M. Wells, James Russell Wiggins, Osgood Bradley Wood, John Clark Woodbury, and John Munro Woolsey, Jr.

President Jeppson presided. The reading of the minutes of the meeting held October 15, 1986, was waived. Mr. Jeppson reported the deaths of the following members:

Nicholas Biddle Wainwright, October 25, 1986 Kathryn Clark Buhler, November 7, 1986 Augustus Peabody Loring, November 27, 1986 Gordon Norton Ray, December 15, 1986 George Bubb Dangerfield, December 27, 1986 Dumas Malone, December 27, 1986

The report of the Treasurer was presented by Mr. Daniels.

The following persons were elected by ballot to membership in the Society with Mr. Forbes and Mr. Riley acting as tellers: John Bidwell, Cathy Notari Davidson, Hagop Martin Deranian, Rudy John Favretti, Donald Harnish Fleming, Stephen Alan Goldman, Graham Hood, William John Keating, Gloria Lund Main, Franklin David Murphy, Thomas David O'Connor, Edward Carl Papenfuse, Jr., Arthur Michael Pappas, Nathan Reingold, Eugene Leslie Roberts, Jr.

The report of the Council was presented by Mr. McCorison.

It was voted to change Article III, Section 1, by substituting the word six to five so that the section shall read as follows: 'The members of the Society shall at no time exceed six hundred.'

Mr. Jeppson reported on the status of the of the Isaiah Thomas Fund, saying that \$716,000 was needed to complete our goal in cash and pledges. He expects it to be reached by the 175th-anniversary meeting on October 21,1987.

The meeting recessed at 11:00 A.M. to reconvene at 11:30 A.M. for a presentation by Robert A. Rutland, on 'The First Great Newspaper Debate: The Constitutional Crisis of 1787–88.' This topic had been selected as part of the Society's participation in the celebration of the bicentennial of the federal Constitution of the United States, which had included participation in a public lecture the previous evening by Justice Harry Blackmun of the United States Supreme Court.

In closing the meeting, Mr. Jeppson thanked Arthur Curley, librarian of the Boston Public Library, for the hospitality presented by the library in connection with the meeting. Mr. Jeppson also thanked the director and the staff of the Society for the growth of Proceedings

the Society in its general operations and its service as a research library during the past several years.

The meeting adjourned at 12:20 P.M. to be followed by a reception and luncheon at the Venetian Room of the Copley Plaza Hotel as guests of Mr. and Mrs. Harold T. Miller.

> Linwood M. Erskine, Jr. *Recording Secretary*

Copyright of Proceedings of the American Antiquarian Society is the property of American Antiquarian Society and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use.