Proceedings of the Annual Meeting

OCTOBER 16, 1985 ANTIQUARIAN HALL WORCESTER

 ${f T}_{ extsf{H}\, extsf{E}}$ one hundred seventy-third annual meeting of the American Antiquarian Society was held at the Library Building of the Society on Wednesday, October 16, 1985, at 10:48 A.M. with the following members present: Frederick Scouller Allis, Jr., Mortimer Herbert Appley, Charles Beach Barlow, Frederick Edward Bauer, Jr., Philip Charles Beals, James Franklin Beard, Jr., George Athan Billias, William Henry Bond, Karl Lombard Briel, John Edward Brooks, Richard David Brown, Augustus George Bullock, Edward Denis Crowley, John Whitin Curtis, Robert Cushman, Bruce Goddard Daniels, Francis Henshaw Dewey III, Henry Bowen Dewey, Linwood Mandeville Erskine, Jr., Daniel Farber, Catherine Mary Fennelly, Paris Fletcher, Howard Gilbert Freeman, Malcolm Freiberg, Donald Richard Friary, Ebenezer Gay, Otto Vincent Gustafson, Robert Palmer Hallock, Jr., William Henry Harrison, Ernest Spero Hayeck, George William Hazzard, Howell Johnson Heaney, Herbert Henry Hosmer, Frederick Herbert Jackson, John Jeppson, 2nd, Minna Flynn Johnson, Gordon Willis Jones, Kenneth Schwalm Jones, Elliott Burris Knowlton, Julian Lee Lapides, Crawford Lincoln, Mason Ira Lowance, Marcus Allen McCorison, James Robert Maguire, Robert Keiser Massey, Harold Taylor Miller, Anne Murray Morgan, Peter Shepard Morgan, Stephen Willner Nissenbaum, Jane Cayford Nylander, Hall James Peterson, Dorothy

Burnett Porter, Stephen Thomas Riley, Betty Ruth Ring, Morris Harold Saffron, Duane Thomas Sargisson, Charles Henry Sawyer, John Douglas Seelye, Hope Hartwell Spear, Richard Charles Steele, Roderick Douglas Stinehour, Helen Estabrook Stoddard, Roger Eliot Stoddard, Henry Schofield Streeter, William Francis Sullivan, Charles Joseph Tanenbaum, David Frederic Tatham, Louis Leonard Tucker, Herbert Mason Varnum, Alden True Vaughan, Francis Gustaf Walett, Meridith Daniels Wesby, Osgood Bradley Wood, John Clark Woodbury, and John Munro Woolsey, Jr.

President Jeppson presided. The reading of the minutes of the meeting held April 17, 1985, was waived.

President Jeppson reported the following deaths and resignation:

Robert Hill Taylor	died May 5, 1985
Warren Gilbert Davis	died August 2, 1985
John William Ward	died August 3, 1985
Paul Miller	resigned August 12, 1985
Everett Harold Hugo	died September 9, 1985
William Bradford Willcox	died September 15, 1985

The report of the Council was presented by Mr. McCorison and the report of the Treasurer by Mr. Daniels. Both reports were accepted.

President Jeppson then read the following resolution adopted by the Council in memory of Vice-President John William Ward:

WHEREAS JOHN WILLIAM WARD was elected to membership in the American Antiquarian Society on April 16, 1975, and whereas

JOHN WILLIAM WARD served the Society faithfully and well as a Councillor from 1977 until 1979, and thereafter was elected a Vice-President; and whereas

JOHN WILLIAM WARD served the Society and its Council

as chairman of the Committee on Education from 1980 to 1983, and of the committee on the Society's 175th anniversary, generously giving, throughout the tenure of his membership, his steadfast friendship, his concern for the wellbeing of the Society, and his sound counsel; and whereas

JOHN WILLIAM WARD provided outstanding leadership to his college, valiant service to his country and state in war and peace, and gave eloquent voice in furtherance of the humanities; and whereas

JOHN WILLIAM WARD was visited by death on August 3, 1985; now therefore

BE IT RESOLVED by the Council of the American Antiquarian Society, in behalf of all members of the Society, that this expression of their profound appreciation for the life of service of this wise Councillor and their deep sorrow upon the loss of their companion shall be inscribed upon its minutes and shall be made known to the family of John William Ward.

The following persons were elected by ballot to membership in the Society with Mr. Gay and Mr. Freeman serving as tellers: Charles Blitzer, Stephen Botein, John Young Cole, William Robert Coleman, Daniel Robert Coquillette, Lloyd Edward Cotsen, Malcolm Stevenson Forbes, Helen Hartman Gemmill, John Bixler Hench, James Aloysius Henretta, Karen Ordahl Kupperman, Kenneth James Moynihan, Gary Baring Nash, Robert C. Woodward, and Michael Zinman.

In the absence of the chairman of the Committee on Nominations, Mr. McCorison presented the report of the committee as follows: President, John Jeppson, 2nd; Vice-Presidents, Roderick Douglas Stinehour, Jill Kathryn Ker Conway; Treasurer, Bruce Goddard Daniels; Recording Secretary, Linwood Mandeville Erskine, Jr.; Secretary for Foreign Correspondence, Henry Schofield Streeter; Secretary for Domestic Correspondence, Philip Charles Beals; Councillors, Richard Charles Steele, George Thomas Tanselle, William Henry Bond, Jules David Prown, Robert Cushman, Harold Taylor Miller, Robert Palmer Hallock, Jr., Jacob Hiatt, Kenneth Nebenzahl, Julian Lee Lapides, Pauline Rubbelke Maier, David Frederic Tatham, John Munro Woolsey, Jr., James Robert Maguire, and Betty Ruth Ring.

There being no further nominations, it was voted to accept the report and to elect the slate as nominated.

Dorothy B. Porter then presented a paper entitled 'The Remonds of Salem, Massachusetts: A Nineteenth-Century Family Revisited.'

The meeting adjourned at 12:20 P.M., to be followed by refreshments as guests of Mr. & Mrs. McCorison at 4 Military Road in Worcester and luncheon at the Goddard-Daniels House at 190 Salisbury Street in Worcester.

> Linwood M. Erskine, Jr. Recording Secretary

Copyright of Proceedings of the American Antiquarian Society is the property of American Antiquarian Society and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use.