Proceedings of the Semiannual Meeting April 18, 1984

BOSTON PUBLIC LIBRARY BOSTON

 ${f T}_{
m HE}$ semiannual meeting of the American Antiquarian Society was held in the Rabb Auditorium of the Boston Public Library, Boston, Massachusetts, on Wednesday, April 18, 1984, at 11:00 A.M. with the following members present: Robert Comey Achorn, John Eliot Alden, Thomas Richard Anderson, Rodney Armstrong, Philip Charles Beals, William Henry Bond, Karl Lombard Briel, Kathryn Clark Buhler, Kenneth Edward Carpenter, John Whitin Curtis, John Daniel Cushing, Robert Cushman, Warren Gilbert Davis, Linwood Mandeville Erskine, Jr., Malcolm Freiberg, Ebenezer Gay, George Talbot Goodspeed, John Colton Greene, Archibald Hanna, Jr., Frank Leighton Harrington, Jr., Sinclair Hamilton Hitchings, Everett Harold Hugo, Genevieve Rogers Weeks Ireland, John Jeppson, 2nd, Minna Flynn Johnson, Benjamin Woods Labaree, Saundra Baker Lane, Julian Lee Lapides, John Morris McClelland, Jr., Marcus Allen McCorison, Philip James McNiff, Pauline Maier, Charles Ellis Mason, Jr., Harold Tavlor Miller, Calvin Peter Otto, Hall James Peterson, William Oscar Pettit, Jr., Jules David Prown, William Sherman Reese, Stephen Thomas Riley, Betty Ruth Abrego Ring, Duanne Thomas Sargisson, Anne Firor Scott, Hope Hartwell Spear, Richard Charles Steele, Roderick Douglas Stinehour, Roger Eliot Stoddard, Henry Schofield Streeter, William Francis Sullivan, George Thomas Tanselle, David Frederic Tatham, Louis Leonard Tucker, John William Ward, Stephen David Weissman, and John Munroe Woolsey, Jr.

President Jeppson presided. The reading of the minutes of the meeting held October 19, 1983, was waived. President Jeppson reported the deaths of the following members:

Keyes DeWitt Metcalf, November 3, 1983 Weld Morgan, November 8, 1983 Irving Lowens, November 14, 1983 Nolie Mumey, January 22, 1984 Louis Booker Wright, February 26, 1984 Homer Daniels Babbidge, Jr., March 27, 1984

The report of the Council was presented by Mr. McCorison. The following persons were elected by ballot to membership in the Society with Mr. Otto and Mr. Reese as tellers: Earl Elmer Bakken, John Richard Bullock, Howard Gilbert Freeman, Sally Gregory Kohlstedt, Crawford Lincoln, Leon F. Litwack, Andrew Hutchinson Neilly, Jr., Doyce Blackman Nunis, Jr., Charles Ernest Rosenberg, Mary Patricia Ryan, Seymour I. Schwartz, Theodore Ellis Stebbins, Jr., Michael Russell Winston, and Osgood Bradley Wood.

Roderick D. Stinehour, president of The Stinehour Press, presented a paper entitled 'Books and Technology.'

In closing the meeting, President Jeppson thanked the Boston Public Library for the use of its facilities for the meeting. The meeting adjourned at 12:14 P.M. to be followed by refreshments at the Copley Plaza Hotel as the guests of Frank L. Harrington, Jr.

Linwood M. Erskine, Jr. *Recording Secretary*

Copyright of Proceedings of the American Antiquarian Society is the property of American Antiquarian Society and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use.