Erhard Wahlstrom, Nicholas Biddle Wainwright, Albert Goodnow Waite, Alexander James Wall, Michael Joseph Walsh, Frederick Lewis Weis, Nathaniel Wheeler, and Walter Muir Whitehill.

It was voted to dispense with the reading of the call for the meeting and the records of the last meeting.

The Report of the Council of the Society was presented by the Director and the Librarian's Report by Mr. McCorison. The Treasurer, Mr. A. George Bullock, gave a brief report. It was voted to accept these reports and refer them to the Committee on Publications.

The election of officers being in order, Mr. Riccius reported for the committee, consisting of Messrs. Riccius, Stobbs and Waite, appointed by the Council in April, 1961, the following nominations:

President Carleton Rubira Richmond, of Milton

Vice-presidents

George Sumner Barton, of Boylston Clifton Waller Barrett, of New York, New York

Councillors

Clarence Saunders Brigham, of Worcester Chandler Bullock, of Worcester Albert White Rice, of Worcester Thomas Winthrop Streeter, of Morristown, New Jersey Richard Allen Heald, of Worcester Edward Larocque Tinker, of New York, New York Walter Muir Whitehill, of Boston Harry Galpin Stoddard, of Worcester Keyes DeWitt Metcalf, of Belmont Fred Harold Daniels, of Worcester

Secretary for Foreign Correspondence Alden Porter Johnson, of Worcester

230

1961.]

## PROCEEDINGS

Secretary for Domestic Correspondence Clifford Kenyon Shipton, of Shirley Center

*Recording Secretary* Daniel Waldo Lincoln, of Worcester

Treasurer Augustus George Bullock, of Grafton

Committee on Publications Alden Porter Johnson, of Worcester Rae MacCollum Spencer, of Marblehead Marcus Allen McCorison, of Worcester

## Auditors Daniel Waldo Lincoln, of Worcester Bradley Baldwin Gilman, of Worcester

Finance Committee Augustus George Bullock, of Grafton Albert White Rice, of Worcester Daniel Waldo Lincoln, of Worcester

Library Committee Frank Leighton Harrington, of Worcester Keyes DeWitt Metcalf, of Belmont Ivan Sandrof, of Worcester

## Committee on the Hall

George Sumner Barton, of Boylston Richard Allen Heald, of Worcester Fred Harold Daniels, of Worcester

Director Clifford Kenyon Shipton, of Shirley Center

Librarian Marcus Allen McCorison, of Worcester It was unanimously voted that the Secretary be requested to cast a ballot for the nominees, which being done and no other ballot being offered, the foregoing nominees were declared elected.

Mr. Shipton, in behalf of the Council, proposed for membership in the Society:

John Jeppson, of Worcester

Ernest Stanley Dodge, of Salem

The President appointed a committee, consisting of Messrs. Nicholas B. Wainwright and Ivan Sandrof to distribute, collect and count the ballots. Mr. Wainwright reported that fifty-five votes had been cast for the persons nominated, and they were declared elected.

Papers were read by Roger Butterfield of New York City on "The Beginnings of Pictorial Journalism," and by Edward Pierce Hamilton of Milton, on "Parkman, Abbé Casgrain, and Bougainville's Journal." The President then announced that the members of the Society were invited to luncheon at the residence of Mr. and Mrs. Fred Harold Daniels, 190 Salisbury Street.

The meeting was then adjourned.

DANIEL W. LINCOLN, Recording Secretary Copyright of Proceedings of the American Antiquarian Society is the property of American Antiquarian Society and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use.