Proceedings of the Annual Meeting

OCTOBER 20, 1976 ANTIQUARIAN HALL WORCESTER

 ${f T}_{{ t H}\,{ t E}}$  one hundred sixty-fourth annual meeting of the American Antiquarian Society was held on the above date in Antiquarian Hall at Worcester, Massachusetts, at 10:53 A.M. with the following members present: Thomas Randolph Adams, Natalie Johnson Allen, Karl John Richard Arndt, Frederick Edward Bauer, Jr., Philip Charles Beals, James Franklin Beard, William Bentinck-Smith, George Athan Billias, William Henry Bond, John Otis Brew, Kathryn Clark Buhler, Lyman Henry Butterfield, Louisa Dresser Campbell, John Whitin Curtis, Bruce Goddard Daniels, Warren Gilbert Davis, Henry Bowen Dewey, Robert Abraham East, Linwood Mandeville Erskine, Jr., Frederic Breakspear Farrar, Malcolm Freiberg, Ebenezer Gay, Frank Leighton Harrington, Sr., Frank Leighton Harrington, Jr., Howell Johnson Heaney, Jacob Hiatt, Robert Bruce Hitchman, Everett Harold Hugo, Sydney Wayne Jackman, Howard Bonar Jefferson, John Jeppson, 2nd, Michael Gedaliah Kammen, Cecelia Marie Kenyon, Bertram Kimball Little, Mason Ira Lowance, Jr., Albert Edgar Lownes, Charles Ellis Mason, Jr., Marcus Allen McCorison, Neil MacNeil, Keyes DeWitt Metcalf, Lawrence Kelton Miller, Amy Bess Williams Miller, Robert Earle Moody, Peter Shepard Morgan, Weld Morgan, Ray Nash, Howard Henry Peckham, Dorothy Burnett Porter, Jules David Prown, Mary Gage Rice, Stephen Thomas Riley, Ivan Sandrof, Stuart Capen Sherman, Richard Charles Steele, Roger Eliot Stoddard, Milton Halsey Thomas, Arthur Bernon Tourtellot, Francis Gustaf Walett, Ruth Dyer Wells, Walter Muir Whitehill, James Russell Wiggins, Richard James Wolfe, and Robert Coldwell Wood.

President Wiggins presided. The reading of the minutes of the meeting held April 16, 1976, was waived. President Wiggins reported the deaths of the following members:

| Samuel Eliot Morison | May 15, 1976     |
|----------------------|------------------|
| George Laban Harding | August 30, 1976  |
| Daniel Catton Rich   | October 15, 1976 |

A resolution adopted by the Council on the death of Samuel Eliot Morison was read by Mr. Wiggins.

The report of the Council was presented by Mr. McCorison and the Treasurer's report by Mr. Daniels. These reports were accepted and referred to the Committee on Publications.

The following persons were elected by ballot to membership in the Society with Messrs. Bentinck-Smith and Freiberg acting as tellers: Elmer L. Andersen, Norman Cousins, Frederic C. Dumaine, Jr., Alan Maxwell Fern, Bernard Joseph Flanagan, John Higham, James Richardson Houghton, Donald Dean Jackson, M Howard Jacobson, Elliott Burris Knowlton, Gerda Lerner, Pauline Maier, John Henry Meagher, Samuel Pryor Reed, Charles Scribner, Jr., David F. Tatham, Rush Eastman Welter, Morton Gabriel White, and Comer Vann Woodward.

The report of the Nominating Committee was presented by Mr. Steele as follows: President, James Russell Wiggins; Vice Presidents, Bernard Bailyn and John Jeppson, 2nd; Treasurer, Bruce Goddard Daniels; Recording Secretary, Linwood Mandeville Erskine, Jr.; Secretary for Domestic Correspondence, Walter Muir Whitehill; Secretary for Foreign Correspondence, Keyes DeWitt Metcalf; Councillors, Clifton Waller Barrett, Robert Waring Stoddard, Everett Lee DeGolyer, Jr., Robert Bruce Hitchman, Howard Bonar Jefferson, Henry Schofield Streeter, Henry Bowen Dewey, Philip Charles Beals, Cecelia Marie Kenyon, Richard Charles Steele, George Thomas Tanselle, Arthur Bernon Tourtellot, Walter Douglas Bell, William Henry Bond, and Roderick Douglas Stinehour.

Upon motion duly seconded, it was unanimously

VOTED To close the nominations and to instruct the Secretary to cast one ballot for the slate as nominated. This being done, the slate of officers and Council members was declared elected.

President Wiggins commented upon the significance of the freedom of the press in the history of the country and the significance of the use of the materials in the Society's library in connection with preserving this freedom. He said that the Society had a most significant duty in keeping and preserving its collection to further this freedom.

Michael Kammen presented an illustrated paper entitled 'From Liberty to Prosperity: Reflections upon the Role of Revolutionary Iconography in National Tradition.'

The meeting adjourned at 12:45 P.M. to be followed by refreshments as guests of Mr. Cushman.

Linwood M. Erskine, Jr. Recording Secretary Copyright of Proceedings of the American Antiquarian Society is the property of American Antiquarian Society and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use.