Proceedings of the Annual Meeting

OCTOBER 20, 1982 AT THE LIBRARY OF THE SOCIETY WORCESTER

 $\mathbf{T}_{ extsf{H}\, extsf{E}}$ one hundred seventieth annual meeting of the American Antiquarian Society was held in Antiquarian Hall on Wednesday, October 20, 1982, at 10:49 A.M. with the following members present: Thomas Randolph Adams, John Eliot Alden, Karl John Richard Arndt, Frederick Edward Bauer, Jr., Philip Charles Beals, James Franklin Beard, George Athan Billias, William Henry Bond, Karl Lombard Briel, John Edward Brooks, Richard David Brown, Augustus George Bullock, John Whitin Curtis, Robert Cushman, Bruce Goddard Daniels, Warren Gilbert Davis, Robert Abraham East, Linwood Mandeville Erskine, Jr., Frederic Breakspear Farrar, Catherine Mary Fennelly, Warner Stoddard Fletcher, John Hope Franklin, Malcolm Freiberg, Donald Richard Friary, Ebenezer Gay, George Talbot Goodspeed, Otto Vincent Gustafson, David Drisko Hall, Archibald Hanna, Jr., George William Hazzard, Everett Harold Hugo, Genevieve Rogers Weeks Ireland, John Jeppson, 2nd, Minna Flynn Johnson, Gordon Willis Jones, Kenneth Schwalm Jones, Albert Thomas Klyberg, Elliott Burris Knowlton, Saundra Baker Lane, Julian Lee Lapides, Mason Ira Lowance, Jr., Marcus Allen McCorison, Philip James McNiff, Charles Ellis Mason, Jr., Robert Keiser Massey, Harold Taylor Miller, Peter Shepard Morgan, Weld Morgan, Kenneth Nebenzahl, Hall James Peterson, William Oscar Pettit, Jr., Duane Thomas Sargisson, Frank Oakman Spinney, Richard Charles Steele, Roger Eliot Stoddard, Frank Sherwin Streeter, Charles Joseph Tanenbaum, David Frederic Tatham, Robert Joseph Taylor, Glenn Weaver, James Russell Wiggins, Harold Edward Woodward, and John Munro Woolsey, Jr.

President Jeppson presided. The reading of the minutes of the meeting held April 21, 1982, was waived. President Jeppson reported the deaths of the following members:

Ralph Paul Bieber	July 23, 1981
Lyman Henry Butterfield	April 25, 1982
Ray Nash	May 21, 1982
Frederick Richmond Goff	September 26, 1982

The report of the Council was presented by Mr. McCorison and the report of the Treasurer by Mr. Daniels. Both reports were accepted with Mr. Daniels's report being accepted by a specific vote.

The following persons were elected by ballot to membership in the Society with Gordon W. Jones and Elliot B. Knowlton as tellers: Robert Comey Achorn, Patricia Meyer Battin, Archibald Kimbrough Davis, Jonathan Leo Fairbanks, Robert Alan Gross, Kenneth Alan Lockridge, John Morris McClelland, Jr., John Peter McDonald, Forrest David Mathews, Stephen Willner Nissenbaum, Betty Ruth Ring, Betsey Beinecke Shirley, William Francis Sullivan, Hope Hartwell Spear, Frank Everson Vandiver, and Robert McColloch Weir.

Mr. Jeppson reported on the status of the Isaiah Thomas Fund saying that 2,839,072 had been pledged and 1,405,761paid on the 175th Anniversary Program Fund.

A certificate honoring Richard C. Steele as chairman of the committee to raise funds for endowing the curatorship of the newspaper collection of the Society was presented by Mr. Jeppson to Mr. Steele.

The report of the Committee on Nominations was presented by Mr. Beals as follows: President, John Jeppson, 2nd; Vicepresidents, Roderick Douglas Stinehour and John William Ward; Treasurer, Bruce Goddard Daniels; Recording Secretary, Linwood Mandeville Erskine, Jr.; Secretary for Domestic Correspondence, Philip Charles Beals; Secretary for Foreign Correspondence, Henry Schofield Streeter; Councillors, James Russell Wiggins, Richard Charles Steele, George Thomas Tanselle, William Henry Bond, Jules David Prown, Jack Phillip Greene, James Robert Maguire, Homer Daniels Babbidge, Jr., Jill Kathryn Ker Conway, Robert Cushman, Harold Taylor Miller, Robert Palmer Hallock, Jr., Jacob Hiatt, and Kenneth Nebenzahl.

Upon motion duly seconded, it was unanimously

VOTED That the Secretary cast one ballot for the slate as nominated. The ballot having been cast, the slate of officers and council members was declared elected.

John Hope Franklin presented a paper entitled 'George Washington Williams: The Massachusetts Years.'

The meeting adjourned at 12:14 P.M. to be followed by refreshments at 4 Military Road as the guests of Mr. and Mrs. McCorison and a luncheon at Goddard-Daniels House, 190 Salisbury Street.

Linwood M. Erskine, Jr. *Recording Secretary*

Copyright of Proceedings of the American Antiquarian Society is the property of American Antiquarian Society and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use.