Proceedings of the Semiannual Meeting

APRIL 15, 1981

AT THE LIBRARY OF THE SOCIETY WORCESTER

 ${f T}_{ extsf{he}}$ semiannual meeting of the American Antiquarian Society was held in Antiquarian Hall in Worcester on Wednesday, April 15, 1981, at 11:03 A.M. with the following members present: Mortimer Herbert Appley, Rodney Armstrong, Karl John Richard Arndt, Frederick Edward Bauer, Jr., Philip Charles Beals, James Franklin Beard, James Brugler Bell, George Athan Billias, William Henry Bond, Robert Welles Booth, Karl Lombard Briel, Augustus George Bullock, Lyman Henry Butterfield, Lester Jesse Cappon, John Whitin Curtis, Bruce Goddard Daniels, Linwood Mandeville Erskine, Jr., Daniel Farber, Frederic Breakspear Farrar, Catherine Mary Fennelly, Ronald Paul Formisano, Francis Scott Fox, Malcolm Freiberg, Donald Richard Friary, Ebenezer Gay, Robert Palmer Hallock, Jr., Archibald Hanna, Jr., Frank Leighton Harrington, William Henry Harrison, Ernest Spero Hayeck, George William Hazzard, Jacob Hiatt, Everett Harold Hugo, John Jeppson, 2nd, Kenneth Schwalm Jones, Elliott Burris Knowlton, Harold Lancour, Saundra Baker Lane, Bertram Kimball Little, David Britton Little, Nina Fletcher Little, Augustus Peabody Loring, Mason Ira Lowance, Jr., Marcus Allen McCorison, Charles Ellis Mason, Robert Keiser Massey, Keyes DeWitt Metcalf, Weld Morgan, Hall James Peterson, William Oscar Pettit, Jr., Jules David Prown, Stephen Thomas

 $\mathbf{7}$

Riley, Wallace Woodsome Robbins, Richard Charles Steele, Roderick Douglas Stinehour, Roger Eliot Stoddard, David Frederic Tatham, Robert Hill Taylor, Louis Leonard Tucker, Alexander James Wall, Jr., John William Ward, Ruth Dyer Wells, James Russell Wiggins, Harold Edward Woodward, and John Munro Woolsey, Jr.

President Jeppson presided. The reading of the minutes of the meeting held October 15, 1980, was waived. President Jeppson reported the deaths of the following members:

| Roger Place Butterfield | January 31, 1981 |
|----------------------------|-------------------|
| George Edmund Gifford, Jr. | February 4, 1981 |
| Wesley Frank Craven | February 10, 1981 |
| Ray Allen Billington | March 7, 1981 |
| Alexander Orr Vietor | March 9, 1981 |

The report of the Council was presented by Mr. Bauer. Upon motion duly seconded, it was

VOTED To amend Article 3, Section 1 of the Bylaws by substituting the word 'five' for the word 'four' so that the section would read as follows: 'The members of the Society shall at no time exceed five hundred.'

The following persons were elected by ballot to membership in the Society with Mr. Friary and Mr. Pettit as tellers: Richard David Brown, Francis H. Dewey III, Norman Sanford Fiering, Donald Edward Graham, David Drisko Hall, Stanley Nider Katz, John Odlen Mirick, William Sherman Reese, Harold Kenneth Skramstad, Jr., Glenn Weaver, Robert Wedgeworth, Jr., and Meridith Daniels Wesby.

Marcus A. McCorison presented a paper entitled 'Isaiah Thomas, the American Antiquarian Society, and the Future.'

In closing the meeting, President Jeppson commented on some recent activities of the Society including the receipt of funds to establish the Alice Comstock Brigham and Clarence S. Brigham Fund, the receipt of papers and other materials from the Sumner House in Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, the success of the Newspaper Endowment Committee in reaching its goal, and the use of the Goddard-Daniels House across the street from Antiquarian Hall by the Society on the termination of the life interest of Eleanor G. Daniels.

The meeting adjourned at 12:15 P.M. to be followed by refreshments in the Goddard-Daniels House as the guests of Mr. and Mrs. Jeppson.

> Linwood M. Erskine, Jr. Recording Secretary

Copyright of Proceedings of the American Antiquarian Society is the property of American Antiquarian Society and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use.