Proceedings of the Annual Meeting

## OCTOBER 18, 1978 AT THE LIBRARY OF THE SOCIETY WORCESTER

 $T_{HE}$  one hundred sixty-sixth annual meeting of the American Antiquarian Society was held in Antiquarian Hall in Worcester, Massachusetts, on Wednesday, October 18, 1978, at 10:47 A.M. with the following members present: Thomas Randolph Adams, John Eliot Alden, Mortimer Herbert Appley, Rodney Armstrong, Karl John Richard Arndt, Frederick Edward Bauer, Jr., Philip Charles Beals, James Franklin Beard, William Bentinck-Smith, George Athan Billias, Karl Lombard Briel, Douglas Wallace Bryant, Kathryn Clark Buhler, Lyman Henry Butterfield, Louisa Dresser Campbell, John Whitin Curtis, Bruce Goddard Daniels, Warren Gilbert Davis, Henry Bowen Dewey, Linwood Mandeville Erskine, Jr., Frederic Breakspear Farrar, Percy William Filby, Paris Fletcher, Malcolm Freiberg, Hannah Dustin French, Ebenezer Gay, George Edmund Gifford, Jr., Jack Phillip Greene, Robert Palmer Hallock, Jr., Archibald Hanna, Jr., Frank Leighton Harrington, Sr., Richard Barksdale Harwell, George William Hazzard, Howell Johnson Heaney, Jacob Hiatt, Milton Prince Higgins, Robert Bruce Hitchman, Everett Harold Hugo, Howard Bonar Jefferson, John Jeppson, 2nd, Alvin M. Josephy, Jr., Elliott Burris Knowlton, Joseph Alberic Leo Lemay, Bertram Kimball Little, David Britton Little, Nina Fletcher Little, Marcus Allen McCorison, Philip James Mc-

## American Antiquarian Society

Niff, James Robert Maguire, Robert Keiser Massey, Keyes DeWitt Metcalf, Robert Earle Moody, Peter Shepard Morgan, Weld Morgan, Mary Beth Norton, Dorothy Burnett Porter, Stuart Capen Sherman, Kenneth Eugene Silverman, Frank Oakman Spinney, Roderick Douglas Stinehour, Roger Eliot Stoddard, George Thomas Tanselle, David Frederic Tatham, Francis Gustaf Walett, Michael Joseph Walsh, James M. Wells, Charles Harris Wesley, Nathaniel Wheeler, and John Munro Woolsey, Jr.

President Jeppson presided. The reading of the minutes of the meeting held April 19, 1978, was waived. President Jeppson reported the deaths of the following members:

George Leslie Stout	July 1, 1978
Michael Papantonio	August 20, 1978
Bruce Catton	August 28, 1978
Sinclair Hamilton	August 28, 1978

The report of the Council was presented by Mr. McCorison and the report of the Treasurer by Mr. Daniels. These reports were accepted and referred to the Committee on Publications.

The following persons were elected by ballot to membership in the Society with Messrs. Knowlton and Wells as tellers: William N. Banks, Robert Welles Booth, Merle Eugene Curti, Shelby Cullom Davis, Jerome Melvin Edelstein, Francis S. Fox, Edward Crosby Johnson, 3rd, Kenneth Schwalm Jones, Richard Stewart Kirkendall, Saundra Baker Lane, Joseph Russell Lynes, Henry Farnham May, Frederick Doveton Nichols, and Barbara Miller Solomon.

Mary Beth Norton presented a paper entitled 'The Daughters of Liberty: American Women in the Pre-Revolutionary Years.'

The report of the Nominating Committee was presented by Mr. Briel as follows: President, John Jeppson, 2nd; Vice-Presidents, Bernard Bailyn and Roderick Douglas Stinehour;

130

## Proceedings

Treasurer, Bruce Goddard Daniels; Recording Secretary, Linwood Mandeville Erskine, Jr.; Secretary for Domestic Correspondence, Robert Bruce Hitchman; Secretary for Foreign Correspondence, Robert Waring Stoddard; Councillors, James Russell Wiggins, Howard Bonar Jefferson, Henry Schofield Streeter, Henry Bowen Dewey, Philip Charles Beals, Cecelia Marie Kenyon, Richard Charles Steele, George Thomas Tanselle, Walter Douglas Bell, William Henry Bond, Jules David Prown, John William Ward, Jack Phillip Greene, James Robert Maguire, and Leonard Benjamin Schlosser.

Upon motion, duly seconded, it was unanimously

VOTED To close the nominations and to instruct the Secretary to cast one ballot for the slate as nominated. This being done, the slate of officers and Council members was declared elected.

In closing the meeting, Mr. Jeppson commented upon some of the activities of the Society and thanked Mr. McCorison and the staff of the Society for their efforts.

The meeting adjourned at 12:02 P.M. to be followed by refreshments at 4 Military Road as the guests of Mr. and Mrs. McCorison.

Linwood M. Erskine, Jr. Recording Secretary Copyright of Proceedings of the American Antiquarian Society is the property of American Antiquarian Society and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use.