## Proceedings of the Annual Meeting

## OCTOBER 15, 1975 AT THE LIBRARY OF THE SOCIETY, WORCESTER

THE one hundred sixty-third annual meeting of the American Antiquarian Society was held on the above date in Antiquarian Hall at Worcester, Massachusetts, at 10:48 A.M., with the following members present: Thomas Randolph Adams, Rodney Armstrong, Frederick Edward Bauer, Jr., Philip Charles Beals, James Franklin Beard, George Athan Billias, William Henry Bond, Kathryn Clark Buhler, Augustus George Bullock, Roger Butterfield, Louisa Dresser Campbell, John Whitin Curtis, Robert Cushman, Bruce Goddard Daniels, Warren Gilbert Davis, Henry Bowen Dewey, Robert Abraham East, Linwood Mandeville Erskine, Jr., Paris Fletcher, Malcolm Freiberg, Hannah Dustin French, George Talbot Goodspeed, Frank Leighton Harrington, Frank Leighton Harrington, Jr., Richard Barksdale Harwell, George William Hazzard, Howell Johnson Heaney, Milton Prince Higgins, Robert Bruce Hitchman, Hudson Hoagland, Harold Hugo, Howard Bonar Jefferson, John Jeppson, 2nd, Gordon Willis Jones, Mills Bee Lane IV, John Emerson Langdon, Bertram Kimball Little, Mason Ira Lowance, Jr., Irving Lowens, Albert Edgar Lownes, Marcus Allen McCorison, Weld Morgan, Ray Nash, Howard Henry Peckham, Mary Gage Rice, Stephen Thomas Riley, Barnes Riznik, Ivan Sandrof, Charles Henry Sawyer, Stuart Capen Sherman, Richard Charles Steele, Roderick Douglas Stinehour, Robert Waring Stoddard, Roger Eliot Stoddard, Bradford Fuller Swan, Milton Halsey Thomas, Nathaniel Wheeler, Walter Muir Whitehill, James Russell Wiggins, and Richard James Wolfe. Also present by invitation were: Mary E. Brown, Georgia B. Bumgardner, John B. Hench, William L. Joyce, Elliott B. Knowlton, and Joyce A. Tracy.

President Wiggins presided. The reading of the minutes of the meeting held April 16, 1975, was waived. President Wiggins reported the deaths of the following members:

Frederick Barnes Tolles	April 18, 1975
Edward Chase Kirkland	May 24, 1975
James Phinney Baxter III	June 17, 1975
Lawrence Meredith Clemson Smith	August 10, 1975

The report of the Council was presented by Mr. Mc-Corison and the Treasurer's report by Mr. Daniels. These reports were accepted and referred to the Committee on Publications.

The following persons were elected by ballot to membership in the Society, with Messrs. Curtis and Lowance acting as tellers: Lee Benson, John Caruthers Broderick, Richard Watrous Couper, Joseph Andorfer Ewan, Frederic Breakspear Farrar, Don Edward Fehrenbacher, James Thomas Flexner, Katharine Graham, Henry Hornblower II, Albert T. Klyberg, Claiborne Pell, Benjamin Arthur Quarles, Willie Lee Rose, Henry Nash Smith, Thaddeus Wilbur Tate, Jr., and John Cardinal Wright.

The report of the Nominating Committee was presented by Mr. Beals as follows: President, James Russell Wiggins; Vice Presidents, Bernard Bailyn and John Jeppson, 2nd; Treasurer, Bruce Goddard Daniels; Recording Secretary, Linwood Mandeville Erskine, Jr.; Secretary for Domestic Correspondence, Walter Muir Whitehill; Secretary for Foreign Correspondence, Keyes DeWitt Metcalf; Councillors, Clifton Waller Barrett, Robert Waring Stoddard, Everett Lee DeGolyer, Jr., Robert Bruce Hitchman, William Howard Adams, Howard Bonar Jefferson, Henry Schofield Streeter, Henry Bowen Dewey, Philip Charles Beals, Cecelia Marie Kenyon, Richard Charles Steele, George Thomas Tanselle, Arthur Bernon Tourtellot, Walter Douglas Bell, and William Henry Bond.

Upon motion duly seconded, it was unanimously

VOTED To close the nominations and to instruct the Secretary to cast one ballot for the slate as nominated. This being done, the slate of officers and Council members was declared elected.

The matter of amending Article III, Section 1 of the Bylaws of the Society was then taken up and, upon motion duly seconded, it was

VOTED To amend Article III, Section 1 of the Bylaws by substituting the word 'four' for the word 'three' so that the section shall read: 'The members of the Society shall at no time exceed four hundred.'

Howard H. Peckham presented a paper entitled 'Independence: The View from Britain.'

The meeting adjourned at 12:05 P.M. to be followed by refreshments as the guests of Messrs. Beard and Billias.

Linwood M. Erskine, Jr. Recording Secretary Copyright of Proceedings of the American Antiquarian Society is the property of American Antiquarian Society and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use.