## Proceedings of the Semiannual Meeting

## APRIL 16, 1975 AT THE LIBRARY OF THE SOCIETY,

## WORCESTER

 $\mathbf{T}_{ extsf{he}}$  semiannual meeting of the American Antiquarian Society was held at the Library of the Society at Worcester, Massachusetts, at 10:49 A.M. with the following members present: Thomas Randolph Adams, John Alden, Karl John Richard Arndt, Frederick Edward Bauer, Jr., Philip Charles Beals, James Franklin Beard, George Athan Billias, William Henry Bond, Julian Parks Boyd, Lyman Henry Butterfield, Bruce Goddard Daniels, Warren Gilbert Davis, Henry Bowen Dewey, Anderson Hunter Dupree, Robert Abraham East, Linwood Mandeville Erskine, Jr., Daniel Farber, Paris Fletcher, Malcolm Freiberg, William Harry Goetzmann, George Talbot Goodspeed, Archibald Hanna, Jr., Frank Leighton Harrington, Howell Johnson Heaney, Jacob Hiatt, Robert Bruce Hitchman, Hudson Hoagland, Harold Hugo, Howard Bonar Jefferson, John Jeppson, 2nd, Harold Lancour, Bertram Kimball Little, Nina Fletcher Little, Albert Edgar Lownes, Marcus Allen McCorison, Neil Mac-Neil, Philip James McNiff, Keyes DeWitt Metcalf, James Eugene Mooney, Daniel Catton Rich, Stephen Thomas Riley, Barnes Riznik, Wallace Woodsome Robbins, Forrest Wilson Seymour, Stuart Capen Sherman, Willman Spawn, Frank Oakman Spinney, Richard Charles Steele, Robert Waring Stoddard, Roger Eliot Stoddard, Henry Schofield Streeter, Bradford Fuller Swan, George Thomas Tanselle, Milton Halsey Thomas, Francis Gustaf Walett, Alexander James Wall, Jr., Wilcomb Edward Washburn, Ruth Dyer Wells, Nathaniel Wheeler, Walter Muir Whitehill, James Russell Wiggins, and Richard James Wolfe.

President Wiggins presided. The reading of the minutes of the meeting held October 16, 1974, was waived. President Wiggins reported the deaths of the following members:

Roger Pattrell Bristol	November 3, 1974
Arthur Harrison Cole	November 10, 1974
Francis Henshaw Dewey, Jr.	November 16, 1974
Francis Peloubet Farquhar	November 21, 1974
Marion Vernon Brewington	December 8, 1974
Carl Erhard Wahlstrom	December 11, 1974
Ernest James Wessen	December 13, 1974
Jacob Nathaniel Blanck	December 23, 1974
Russell Murdock Stobbs	March 13, 1975
Richard Samuel Wormser	April 6, 1975

The report of the Council was presented by Mr. McCorison and the Treasurer's report by Mr. Daniels. The Treasurer's report was accepted by specific vote.

The following persons were elected by ballot to membership in the Society, with Frederick E. Bauer, Jr., acting as teller: John Brademas, Amon Carter, Jr., John Cowles, Jr., Richard Crawford, David Brion Davis, Hannah Dustin French, Frank Leighton Harrington, Jr., Michael Gedaliah Kammen, Lewis Leary, Mason Ira Lowance, Jr., Paul Miller, Arthur Ochs Sulzberger, and John William Ward.

A paper entitled 'The Declaration of Independence: A Critique' by Howard Mumford Jones, who was ill and unable to be present, was read by William H. Bond. In closing the meeting, President Wiggins expressed the congratulations of the Society to Mr. Jones on having achieved another birthday and the regret of the Society that his illness prevented his having presented his paper in person.

The meeting adjourned at 12:00 NOON to be followed by refreshments as guests of Marcus A. McCorison.

Linwood M. Erskine, Jr. Recording Secretary Copyright of Proceedings of the American Antiquarian Society is the property of American Antiquarian Society and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use.