## Proceedings of the Annual Meeting

## OCTOBER 16, 1974 AT THE LIBRARY OF THE SOCIETY, WORCESTER

 ${f T}_{ extsf{HE}}$  one hundred sixty-second annual meeting of the American Antiquarian Society was held on the above date in Antiquarian Hall at Worcester, Massachusetts, at 10:52 A.M. with the following members present: Thomas Randolph Adams, William Howard Adams, John Alden, Rodney Armstrong, Karl John Richard Arndt, Frederick Edward Bauer, Jr., Philip Charles Beals, James Franklin Beard, William Henry Bond, Kathryn Clark Buhler, Augustus George Bullock, Lyman Henry Butterfield, Roger Butterfield, Louisa Dresser Campbell, Charles Elliot Frazer Clark, Jr., John Whitin Curtis, Robert Cushman, Bruce Goddard Daniels, Richard Beale Davis, Warren Gilbert Davis, Everett Lee DeGolyer, Jr., Henry Bowen Dewey, Linwood Mandeville Erskine, Jr., Paris Fletcher, Malcolm Freiberg, Ebenezer Gay, George Talbot Goodspeed, Richard Walden Hale, Jr., Milton Wheaton Hamilton, Archibald Hanna, Jr., Frank Leighton Harrington, Howell Johnson Heaney, Jacob Hiatt, Milton Prince Higgins, Robert Bruce Hitchman, Hudson Hoagland, Harold Hugo, Howard Bonar Jefferson, John Jeppson, 2nd, Edward Chase Kirkland, Mills Bee Lane IV, John Emerson Langdon, Augustus Peabody Loring, Bertram Kimball Little, David Britton Little, Nina Fletcher Little, Albert Edgar Lownes, Marcus Allen McCorison, Gertrude Robinson Mallary, Weld Morgan, Ray Nash, Howard Henry

241

Peckham, Dorothy Burnett Porter, Mary Gage Rice, Daniel Catton Rich, Stephen Thomas Riley, Barnes Riznik, Wallace Woodsome Robbins, Ivan Sandrof, Forrest Wilson Seymour, Stuart Capen Sherman, Roderick Douglas Stinehour, Russell Murdock Stobbs, Roger Eliot Stoddard, Henry Schofield Streeter, Bradford Fuller Swan, Milton Halsey Thomas, Arthur Bernon Tourtellot, Charles van Ravenswaay, Carl Erhard Wahlstrom, Alexander James Wall, Jr., Michael Joseph Walsh, Nathaniel Wheeler, Walter Muir Whitehill, and James Russell Wiggins.

President Wiggins presided. The reading of the minutes of the meeting held April 17, 1974, was waived. President Wiggins reported the removal from membership of the following individuals:

Ezra Joseph Warner, 3rd	died May 30, 1974
Henry Joel Cadbury	died October 7, 1974
Kenneth Karl Bechtel	resigned August 1, 1974

The report of the Council was presented by Mr. McCorison, the President's report by Mr. Wiggins, and the Treasurer's report by Mr. Daniels. Upon motion duly made and seconded it was

**VOTED** To accept the reports of the Council, the President, and the Treasurer and to refer these reports to the Committee on Publication.

The following persons were elected by ballot to membership in the Society with Messrs. Lane and Langdon acting as tellers: Walter Douglas Bell, Allan G. Bogue, Edwin Harrison Cady, Peter Bruce Clark, John Daniels Cushing, Anderson Hunter Dupree, William Harry Goetzmann, Oliver Ormerod Jensen, Elizabeth Massey Harris, James N. Heald, 2nd, Josiah Kirby Lilly, 3rd, David M. K. McKibbin, Neil MacNeil, Louis Lohr Martz, Charles Ellis Mason, Jr., William Matheson, John Willard Shy.

The report of the Nominating Committee was presented by

Mr. Streeter as follows: President, James Russell Wiggins; Vice Presidents, Bernard Bailyn and John Jeppson, 2nd; Treasurer, Bruce Goddard Daniels; Recording Secretary, Linwood Mandeville Erskine, Jr.; Secretary for Domestic Correspondence, Walter Muir Whitehill; Secretary for Foreign Correspondence, Keyes DeWitt Metcalf; Councillors, Clifton Waller Barrett, Robert Waring Stoddard, Bertram Wallace Korn, Everett Lee DeGolyer, Jr., Robert Bruce Hitchman, William Howard Adams, Howard Bonar Jefferson, Henry Schofield Streeter, Henry Bowen Dewey, Philip Charles Beals, Cecelia Marie Kenyon, Richard Charles Steele, George Thomas Tanselle, and Arthur Bernon Tourtellot.

Upon motion duly seconded it was unanimously

VOTED To close the nominations and to instruct the Secretary to cast one ballot for the slate as nominated. This being done, the slate of officers and Council members was declared elected.

A resolution adopted by the Council in honor of Frank Leighton Harrington was read by Mr. Wiggins.

Thomas R. Adams presented a paper entitled 'The American Controversy 1764–1783: The Reaction of the British Pamphlet Press.'

The meeting adjourned at 12:32 P.M. to be followed by refreshments as guests of Albert E. Lownes.

Linwood M. Erskine, Jr. Recording Secretary Copyright of Proceedings of the American Antiquarian Society is the property of American Antiquarian Society and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use.