Proceedings of the Annual Meeting

OCTOBER 18, 1972 AT THE LIBRARY OF THE SOCIETY, WORCESTER

 ${f T}_{ extsf{HE}}$ one hundred and sixtieth annual meeting of the American Antiquarian Society convened at the library of the Society at Worcester, Massachusetts, October 18, 1972, at 10:52 a.m. with the following members present: Thomas Randolph Adams, Karl John Richard Arndt, Frederick Edward Bauer, Jr., Philip Charles Beals, James Franklin Beard, George Athan Billias, Ray Allen Billington, William Henry Bond, Kathryn Clark Buhler, Augustus George Bullock, Lyman Henry Butterfield, Lammot duPont Copeland, John Whitin Curtis, Bruce Goddard Daniels, Warren Gilbert Davis, Everett Lee DeGolver, Jr., Henry Bowen Dewey, Louisa Dresser Campbell, Robert Abraham East, Linwood Mandeville Erskine, Jr., Paris Fletcher, Malcolm Freiberg, Ebenezer Gay, Richard Walden Hale, Jr., Milton Wheaton Hamilton, Frank Leighton Harrington, Richard Barksdale Harwell, Richard Allen Heald, Hudson Hoagland, Harold Hugo, Howard Bonar Jefferson, John Jeppson, 2nd, John Sicher Van Eisen Kohn, Bertram Kimball Little, Nina Fletcher Little, Albert Edgar Lownes, Marcus Allen Mc-Corison, Keyes DeWitt Metcalf, James Eugene Mooney, Weld Morgan, Ray Nash, Andrew Oliver, Howard Henry Peckham, Mary Gage Rice, Stephen Thomas Riley, Wallace Woodsome Robbins, Ivan Sandrof, Stuart Capen Sherman, Roderick Douglas Stinehour, Russell Murdock Stobbs, Robert Waring Stoddard, Roger Eliot Stoddard, Henry Schofield Streeter, Bradford Fuller Swan, Milton Halsey Thomas, Charles van Ravenswaay, Wilcomb Edward Washburn, Nathaniel Wheeler, Walter Muir Whitehill, James Russell Wiggins, and Richard James Wolfe.

President Wiggins presided. The reading of the minutes of the meeting held April 19, 1972, was waived. President Wiggins reported the deaths of the following members:

Ernest Caulfield	May 16, 1972
Edward Pierce Hamilton	May 22, 1972
Verner Warren Clapp	June 15, 1972
Alden Porter Johnson	September 8, 1972

Mr. Wiggins read a resolution adopted by the Council on the death of Mr. Johnson.

The report of the Council was presented by Mr. McCorison and the Treasurer's report was presented by Mr. Bullock. Mr. Wiggins read a resolution adopted by the Council in appreciation of Mr. Bullock's years of service as Treasurer.

WHEREAS Augustus George Bullock has been since October 1952 a faithful and useful member of the American Antiquarian Society, and

WHEREAS Augustus George Bullock has been since October 1961 Treasurer of the American Antiquarian Society giving careful attention to and wise advice upon the fiduciary affairs of the Society, now therefore

BE IT RESOLVED that the Council of the American Antiquarian Society acknowledge his services with hearty thanks and good will and extend to this helpful colleague its deep felt gratitude. October 18, 1972

James Russell Wiggins, PRESIDENT

The following persons were elected by ballot to membership in the Society with Ivan Sandrof and Charles van Ravenswaay acting as tellers: Silvio A. Bedini, Gaylord Donnelley, Jack Phillip Greene, Gordon Willis Jones, Jackson Turner Main, Peter Shepard Morgan, James Morton Smith, Kenneth Milton Stampp, and Richard Charles Steele.

The report of the Nominating Committee was presented by Paris Fletcher as follows: President, James Russell Wiggins; Vice Presidents, Keyes DeWitt Metcalf and Bernard Bailyn; Treasurer, Bruce Goddard Daniels; Recording Secretary, Linwood Mandeville Erskine, Jr.; Secretary for Domestic Correspondence, Clifford Kenyon Shipton; Secretary for Foreign Correspondence, Frank Leighton Harrington; Councillors, Walter Muir Whitehill, Clifton Waller Barrett, John Jeppson, 2nd, Paris Fletcher, Robert Waring Stoddard, Bertram Wallace Korn, Everett Lee DeGolyer, Robert Bruce Hitchman, William Howard Adams, Howard Bonar Jefferson, Henry Schofield Streeter, and Henry Bowen Dewey.

Upon motion duly seconded, it was unanimously

VOTED To close the nominations and to instruct the Secretary to cast one ballot for the slate as nominated. This being done, the slate of officers and council members was declared elected.

A paper entitled 'Tempest in Clio's Teapot: The American Historical Association Rebellion of 1915' was presented by Ray Allen Billington of San Marino, California.

The meeting adjourned at 12:10 p.m. to enjoy refreshments as the guests of Paris Fletcher.

Linwood M. Erskine, Jr. Recording Secretary Copyright of Proceedings of the American Antiquarian Society is the property of American Antiquarian Society and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use.