Proceedings of the Semi-annual Meeting

APRIL 19, 1972 AMERICAN METEOROLOGICAL SOCIETY, BOSTON

 ${f T}_{ extsf{HE}}$ semi-annual meeting of the American Antiquarian Society was held at the auditorium of the American Meteorological Society, 45 Beacon Street, Boston, Massachusetts, on Wednesday, April 19, 1972. President James Russell Wiggins called the meeting to order at 11:03 A.M. with the following members present: Rodney Armstrong, Albert Boni, Kathryn Clark Buhler, Augustus George Bullock, Lyman Henry Butterfield, Roger Butterfield, John Whitin Curtis, Bruce Goddard Daniels, Ernest Stanley Dodge, Louisa Dresser, Linwood Mandeville Erskine, Jr., Malcolm Freiberg, Pierce Welch Gaines, Ebenezer Gay, George Talbot Goodspeed, Richard Walden Hale, Jr., Archibald Hanna, Jr., Hudson Hoagland, Oliver Wendell Holmes, Alden Porter Johnson, Edward Chase Kirkland, Bertram Wallace Korn, Joseph Alberic Leo Lemay, Bertram Kimball Little, Albert Edgar Lownes, Marcus Allen McCorison, Keyes DeWitt Metcalf, James Eugene Mooney, Kenneth Ballard Murdock, Andrew Oliver, Dorothy Burnett Porter, James Berton Rhoads, Stephen Thomas Riley, Forrest Wilson Seymour, Stuart Capen Sherman, Clifford Kenyon Shipton, Frank Oakman Spinney, Russell Murdock Stobbs, Roger Eliot Stoddard, Bradford Fuller Swan, Milton Halsey Thomas, Michael Joseph Walsh, Nathaniel Wheeler, Walter Muir Whitehill, James Russell Wiggins, Edwin Wolf, 2nd, and Richard Samuel Wormser.

The reading of the minutes of the meeting held October 20, 1971, was waived. President Wiggins reported the deaths of the following members:

Herbert Joseph Spinden	October 23, 1967
Samuel Foster Damon	December 25, 1971
Richard Harrison Shryock	January 30, 1972
Gilbert Chinard	February 9, 1972
Rae MacCollum Spencer	March 12, 1972

Mr. McCorison presented the report of the Council and Mr. Bullock presented the Treasurer's report. Upon motion duly made and seconded it was

VOTED To accept the reports of the Council and the Treasurer and to refer these reports to the Committee on Publications.

Mr. Wiggins read the names of ten individuals recommended for election to membership and the following persons were elected by ballot to membership in the Society with Malcolm Freiberg and J. A. Leo Lemay acting as tellers: Frederic Edward Bauer, Jr., Kenneth Karl Bechtel, Paul Fenimore Cooper, Jr., Abbott Lowell Cummings, Osborne Bennett Hardison, Jr., Brooke Hindle, Howard Roberts Lamar, Samuel Robert Rosenthal, Robert Hill Taylor, Clarence Lester Ver Steeg.

With Mr. Hudson Hoagland acting as moderator, James Russell Wiggins of Brooklin, Maine, presented a paper entitled 'The Uses of History.' After the paper was presented, comments were given by Mr. Hoagland and Edward Chase Kirkland.

The meeting adjourned at 12:20 P.M. to be followed by refreshments as guests of Andrew Oliver and luncheon at the Club of Odd Volumes.

> Linwood M. Erskine, Jr. Recording Secretary

Copyright of Proceedings of the American Antiquarian Society is the property of American Antiquarian Society and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use.