## Proceedings of the Semi-annual Meeting

## APRIL 21, 1971 HARVARD MUSICAL ASSOCIATION BOSTON

THE SEMI-ANNUAL MEETING of the American Antiquarian Society was held at the Auditorium of the Harvard Musical Association at 57A Chestnut Street, Boston, Massachusetts, on Wednesday, April 21, 1971. President James Russell Wiggins called the meeting to order at 11:02 A.M. with the following members present: Thomas Randolph Adams, Karl John Richard Arndt, James Franklin Beard, Jr., Jacob Blanck, William Henry Bond, Marion Vernon Brewington, Kathryn Clark Buhler, Lyman Henry Butterfield, Roger Butterfield, Lammot du Pont Copeland, John Whitin Curtis, Bruce Goddard Daniels, Warren Gilbert Davis, Ernest Stanley Dodge, Linwood Mandeville Erksine, Jr., Luther Harris Evans, Malcolm Freiberg, Pierce Welch Gaines, Wendell Douglas Garrett, Ebenezer Gay, George Talbot Goodspeed, Archibald Hanna, Jr., Frank Leighton Harrington, Richard Barksdale Harwell, Howard Bonar Jefferson, John Jeppson, 2nd, Alden Porter Johnson, Bertram Wallace Korn, Edward Connery Lathem, Bertram Kimball Little, David Britton Little, Albert Edgar Lownes, Marcus Allen McCorison, Keyes DeWitt Metcalf, James Eugene Mooney, Weld Morgan, Samuel Eliot Morison, Ray Nash, Andrew Oliver, Dorothy Burnett Porter, Mary Gage Rice, Stephen Thomas Riley, Forrest Wilson Seymour, Roderick Douglas Stinehour, Roger Eliot Stoddard, Henry Schofield Streeter, Bradford Fuller Swan, Milton Halsey Thomas, Charles van Ravenswaay, Wilcomb Edward Washburn, Walter Muir Whitehill, James Russell Wiggins, and Richard James Wolfe.

The reading of the minutes of the meeting held October 21, 1970, was waived. President Wiggins read a resolution adopted by the Council of the Society in recognition of the services rendered by Frank L. Harrington, retiring chairman of the Development Committee, and presented to Mr. Harrington on behalf of the Council a silver bowl. President Wiggins reported the deaths of the following members:

Richard Hofstadter	October 24, 1970
Raymond Phineas Stearns	November 15, 1970
Lawrence Counselman Wroth	December 25, 1970
Albert Goodnow Waite	February 6, 1971
Allan Nevins	March 5, 1971
Daniel Waldo Lincoln	March 16, 1971

Mr. McCorison presented the report of the Council and, in the absence of Mr. Bullock, also presented the report of the Treasurer. Upon motion duly made and seconded it was

**VOTED:** To accept the reports of the Council and the Treasurer and to refer these reports to the Committee on Publications.

Mr. Wiggins read the names of those individuals recommended for election to membership and the following persons were elected by ballot to membership in the Society with Ebenezer Gay and James E. Mooney acting as tellers: Albert Boni, Frederick Henry Burkhardt, David Herbert Donald, David Hackett Fischer, Russel Blaine Nye, Gordon Norton Ray, James Berton Rhoads, Russell Murdock Stobbs, and Frank Sherwin Streeter.

Papers were read by Richard Barksdale Harwell of States-

## Proceedings

boro, Georgia, on 'Brief Candle: The Confederate Theatre' and by Roger Eliot Stoddard of Concord, Massachusetts, on 'Notes on American Play Publishing, 1765–1865.'

The meeting adjourned at 1:28 P.M. to be followed by refreshments as guests of George T. Goodspeed and Michael J. Walsh and luncheon at the Club of Odd Volumes.

> Linwood Mandeville Erskine, Jr. Recording Secretary

Copyright of Proceedings of the American Antiquarian Society is the property of American Antiquarian Society and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use.