Proceedings of the Annual Meeting

OCTOBER 21, 1970 AT THE LIBRARY OF THE SOCIETY, WORCESTER

 $\mathbf{T}_{ extsf{HE}}$ one hundred and fifty-eighth annual meeting of the American Antiquarian Society was held at the library of the Society in Worcester, Massachusetts, October 21, 1970, at 10:50 a.m. with the following members present: Karl John Richard Arndt. Clifton Waller Barrett, James Franklin Beard, Jr., George Athan Billias, Jacob Blanck, William Henry Bond, Kathryn Clark Buhler, Augustus George Bullock, Lyman Henry Butterfield, Roger Butterfield, John Whitin Curtis, Bruce Goddard Daniels, Warren Gilbert Davis, Everett Lee DeGolver, Jr., Henry Bowen Dewey, Louisa Dresser, Robert Abraham East, Linwood Mandeville Erskine, Jr., Paris Fletcher, Malcolm Freiberg, Wendell Douglas Garrett, Ebenezer Gay, George Talbot Goodspeed, Milton Wheaton Hamilton, Archibald Hanna, Jr., George Laban Harding, Frank Leighton Harrington, Richard Barksdale Harwell, Jacob Hiatt, Robert Bruce Hitchman, Hudson Hoagland, Harold Hugo, Harold Stein Jantz, Howard Bonar Jefferson, John Jeppson, 2nd, Alden Porter Johnson, Edward Chase Kirkland, Benjamin Woods Labaree, Edward Connery Lathem, Daniel Waldo Lincoln, Bertram Kimball Little, Nina Fletcher Little, Albert Edgar Lownes, Marcus Allen Mc-Corison, Keyes DeWitt Metcalf, James Eugene Mooney, Weld Morgan, Michael Papantonio, Mary Gage Rice, Stephen Thomas Riley, Wallace Woodsome Robbins, Forrest Wilson Seymour, Stuart Capen Sherman, Clifford Kenyon Shipton, Frank Oakman Spinney, Roderick Douglas Stinehour, Robert Waring Stoddard, Roger Eliot Stoddard, Milton Halsey Thomas, Charles van Ravenswaay, Alexander James Wall, Jr., Michael Joseph Walsh, Nathaniel Wheeler, Walter Muir Whitehill, James Russell Wiggins, Edwin Wolf, 2nd, Richard James Wolfe, and Richard Samuel Wormser.

President Barrett presided. The reading of the minutes of the meeting held April 13, 1970, was waived and the minutes were approved as printed. President Barrett reported the deaths of the following members:

Gerald Doan McDonald	May 6, 1970
Richard Gimbel	May 27, 1970
Clinton Rossiter	July 10, 1970
Henry Needham Flynt	August 11, 1970
James Owen Knauss	August 29, 1970

The reports of the Council and of the Librarian were presented by Mr. McCorison. The Treasurer's report was presented by Mr. Bullock. Upon motion duly made and seconded it was

VOTED To accept the reports of the Council, the Librarian, and the Treasurer and to refer these reports to the Committee on Publications.

The following persons were elected by ballot to membership in the Society with James F. Beard and Richard S. Wormser acting as tellers: Lammot duPont Copeland, Wesley Frank Craven, Richard Higgins, Stephen G. Kurtz, Nolie Mumey, Dorothy Porter, and George Thomas Tanselle.

The report of the Nominating Committee was presented by Wallace W. Robbins as follows:

President, James Russell Wiggins; Vice Presidents, Alden Porter Johnson and John William Middendorf, II; Treasurer, Augustus George Bullock; Recording Secretary, Linwood Mandeville Erskine, Jr.; Secretary for Domestic Correspondence, Clifford Kenyon Shipton; Secretary for Foreign Correspondence, Frank Leighton Harrington; Councillors, Daniel Waldo Lincoln, Walter Muir Whitehill, Keyes DeWitt Metcalf, Clifton Waller Barrett, John Jeppson, 2nd, Paris Fletcher, Robert Waring Stoddard, Bertram Wallace Korn, Bernard Bailyn, Everett Lee DeGolyer, and Robert Bruce Hitchman.

Upon motion duly seconded, it was unanimously

VOTED To close the nominations and to instruct the secretary to cast one ballot for the slate as nominated. This being done the slate of officers and council members were declared elected. Thereafter, Mr. Wiggins presided.

The following papers were presented: 'Every Man His Own Biographer' by Archibald Hanna, Jr., of New Haven and 'The Indiana Decade of George Rapp's Harmony Society' by Karl J. R. Arndt of Worcester.

Resolutions of appreciation to outgoing officers and Councillors Carleton Rubira Richmond, Richard Allen Heald, and Clifton Waller Barrett were read.

WHEREAS Carleton Rubira Richmond has been for over twenty years a member of the American Antiquarian Society, benefitting it in many valuable ways and willing always to shoulder his share of any burdens of leadership and

WHEREAS Carleton Rubira Richmond has been for all but three of those years a member of the Council, serving with quiet but manifest distinction as a Vice-President since 1954 and

WHEREAS Carleton Rubira Richmond further has served this Society as President for five years during which tenure he guided its destinies by the exercise of gentle wisdom and meaningful experience, now therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED that the Council of the American Antiquarian Society recognize, albeit with reluctance, that the desire of Carleton Rubira Richmond to resign from the Council be honored by them his colleagues and that they recongize further the debt they owe to his example of effort. October 21, 1970

James Russell Wiggins, PRESIDENT

WHEREAS Richard Allen Heald has been for a quarter of a century a faithful member of the American Antiquarian Society, giving freely of his time and interest to its affairs and

WHEREAS Richard Allen Heald has been for most of these years a dependable and unstinting member of the Council, bringing to its deliberations his solid practicality and strength of conviction to steady its course, and

WHEREAS Richard Allen Heald has been throughout his long period of duty an able and helpful friend to this Society, now therefore

BE IT RESOLVED that the Councillors of the American Antiquarian Society regret the resignation from their midst of Richard Allen Heald upon his reaching seventy years of age and send with him their acknowledgement of long-term debt. October 21, 1970

James Russell Wiggins, PRESIDENT

WHEREAS Clifton Waller Barrett has been for seventeen years a member of the American Antiquarian Society, construing that position to entail a wholehearted commitment to humanistic scholarship and

WHEREAS Clifton Waller Barrett has been for twelve years a member of the Council and having served from 1959 to 1964 as a Vice-President acquitting these positions with calm competence and devotion and

WHEREAS Clifton Waller Barrett has been since 1964 President of this Society, leading the Council and Members to the need for a new degree of effort for the well-being of the Society and always ready to do his duty, now therefore Proceedings

BE IT RESOLVED that the Council of the American Antiquarian Society acknowledge his service with grateful thanks and good will and extend to this faithful servant its deep felt gratitude.

October 21, 1970

James Russell Wiggins, PRESIDENT

The meeting adjourned at 12:40 p.m. to enjoy refreshments as the guests of John Jeppson, 2nd.

Linwood M. Erskine, Jr. Recording Secretary Copyright of Proceedings of the American Antiquarian Society is the property of American Antiquarian Society and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use.