## Proceedings of the Semi-annual Meeting

## APRIL 15, 1969

## PIERPONT MORGAN LIBRARY

 ${
m T}_{
m He}$  semi-annual meeting of the American Antiquarian Society was held at the Pierpont Morgan Library, 29 East 36th Street, New York City, New York, on Tuesday, April 15, 1969. President C. Waller Barrett called the meeting to order at 2:05 P.M. with the following members present: Thomas Randolph Adams, John Alden, Rodney Armstrong, Karl John Richard Arndt, Clifton Waller Barrett, Philip Charles Beals, James Franklin Beard, Whitfield Jenks Bell, Jacob Blanck, Kathryn Clark Buhler, Augustus George Bullock, Lyman Henry Butterfield, Lester Jesse Cappon, Henry Steele Commager, Bruce Goddard Daniels, Ernest Stanley Dodge, Louisa Dresser, Linwood Mandeville Erskine, Jr., Luther Harris Evans, Paris Fletcher, Malcolm Freiberg, Pierce Welch Gaines, Wendell Douglas Garrett, Richard Gimbel, Lawrence Henry Gipson, Frederick Richmond Goff, Sinclair Hamilton, Archibald Hanna, Jr., Frank Leighton Harrington, Richard Barksdale Harwell, Richard Allen Heald, Sinclair Hamilton Hitchings, Harold Hugo, Harold Stein Jantz, Howard Bonar Jefferson, Alden Porter Johnson, Bernhard Knollenberg, Irving Lowens, Albert Edgar Lownes, Marcus Allen McCorison, Gerald Doan McDonald, George Leslie McKay, Keyes DeWitt Metcalf, John William Middendorf, 2nd, James Eugene Mooney, Andrew Oliver, Howard Henry Peckham, Jules David Prown, Mary Gage Rice, Ivan Sandrof, Charles Henry Sawyer, William Hurd Scheide, Stuart Capen Sherman, Clifford Kenyon Shipton, Richard Harrison Shryock, Willman Spawn, Roderick Douglas Stinehour, Robert Waring Stoddard, Roger Eliot Stoddard, Herbert Ranger Strauss, Bradford Fuller Swan, James Robert Tanis, Milton Halsey Thomas, Lawrence William Towner, Charles van Ravenswaay, Alexander James Wall, Michael Joseph Walsh, d'Alté Aldridge Welch, Walter Muir Whitehill, James Russell Wiggins, Edwin Wolf, 2nd, and George Berkeley Young.

The reading of the minutes of the meeting held October 16, 1968 was waived. Mr. Barrett reported the death of Henry Francis duPont, a member of the Society, on April 10, 1969.

Having been recommended for membership by the Council, the following individuals were elected to membership in the Society by ballot: Everett Lee DeGolyer, Jr., John Hope Franklin, Robert Bruce Hitchman, Richard Brandon Morris, Norman Hulbert Strouse, and Wilcomb Edward Washburn.

The Treasurer, A. George Bullock, gave an interim report on the finances of the Society which was approved by vote and the report of the Council was presented by Marcus A. McCorison.

Papers were read by Frederick Richmond Goff of Washington, D.C., on 'Rubrication in American Books of the Eighteenth Century' and by James Franklin Beard of Worcester, Massachusetts, on 'The Metamorphoses of Leatherstocking.'

After expressing the appreciation of the Society to the Pierpont Morgan Library for the use of its quarters, Mr. Barrett adjourned the meeting at 3:50 P.M. to be followed later in the day by a dinner for members of the Society and members of the Grolier Club at The Plaza. A reception, preview, and formal opening of 'A Society's Chief Joys,' an exhibition from the collections of the Society, were held at 9:15 P.M. at the Grolier Club, 47 East 60th Street, New York City, New York.

Linwood M. Erskine, Jr., Recording Secretary

Copyright of Proceedings of the American Antiquarian Society is the property of American Antiquarian Society and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use.