Proceedings of the Annual Meeting

OCTOBER 16, 1968 AT THE LIBRARY OF THE SOCIETY, WORCESTER

 $T_{ extsf{he}}$ one hundred and fifty-sixth annual meeting of the American Antiquarian Society was held at the library of the Society in Worcester, Massachusetts, October 16, 1968, at 10:45 a.m. The meeting was called to order by the President, Clifton Waller Barrett. The following members were present: Thomas Randolph Adams, Karl John Richard Arndt, Clifton Waller Barrett, Philip Charles Beals, James Franklin Beard, Whitfield Jenks Bell, Jr., William Henry Bond, Marion Vernon Brewington, Kathryn Clark Buhler, Augustus George Bullock, Lyman Henry Butterfield, Roger Butterfield, I. Bernard Cohen, John Whitin Curtis, Warren Gilbert Davis, Henry Bowen Dewey, Ernest Stanley Dodge, Louisa Dresser, Linwood Mandeville Erskine, Jr., Paris Fletcher, Malcolm Freiberg, Pierce Welch Gaines, Ebenezer Gay, George Talbot Goodspeed, George Laban Harding, Richard Barksdale Harwell, Richard Allen Heald, Hudson Hoagland, Harold Hugo, Frederick Herbert Jackson, Harold Stein Jantz, Howard Bonar Jefferson, Alden Porter Johnson, Edward Chase Kirkland, Russell Wallace Knight, Benjamin Woods Labaree, Daniel Waldo Lincoln, Bertram Kimball Little, David Britton Little, Nina Fletcher Little, Albert Edgar Lownes, Marcus Allen McCorison, Gerald Doan McDonald, James Eugene Mooney, Weld Morgan, Andrew Oliver, Mary Gage Rice, Daniel Catton

Rich, Stephen Thomas Riley, Wallace Woodsome Robbins, Ivan Sandrof, Stuart Capen Sherman, Clifford Kenyon Shipton, Richard Harrison Shryock, Rae McCollum Spencer, Lewis Morgrage Stark, Roderick Douglas Stinehour, Robert Waring Stoddard, Roger Eliot Stoddard, Herbert Ranger Strauss, Bradford Fuller Swan, Milton Halsey Thomas, Lawrence William Towner, Charles van Ravenswaay, Henry Rouse Viets, Michael Joseph Walsh, Nathaniel Wheeler, and Richard James Wolfe.

The reading of the minutes of the meeting held April 17, 1968, was waived and the minutes were approved as printed. President Barrett reported the deaths of the following members:

Frederick Edward Brasch	October 26, 1967
John Cook Wyllie	April 17, 1968
Edward Larocque Tinker	July 6, 1968
Chauncey Cushing Nash	July 16, 1968
James Tinkham Babb	July 21, 1968

The reports of the Council and of the Librarian were presented by Mr. McCorison. Mr. Bullock presented the Treasurer's report. Mr. Erskine presented the report of the Bylaw Committee. Upon motion duly made and seconded, it was

VOTED To adopt the Bylaws as recommended by the Bylaw Committee and to revoke all other Bylaws previously adopted by the Society, a copy of the new Bylaws to be filed with the records of the meeting. It was

VOTED To accept all of the reports and to refer them to the Committee on Publications.

In the absence of Jacob Hiatt, the report of the Nominating Committee consisting of Mr. Hiatt as chairman, Milton P. Higgins and Julian Boyd, was presented by Mr. McCorison as follows: President, Clifton Waller Barrett; Vice Presidents, John Jeppson, 2nd, and Alden Porter Johnson; Councillors, Daniel Waldo Lincoln, Carleton Rubira Richmond, Walter Muir Whitehill, Keyes DeWitt Metcalf, Frank Leighton Harrington, Paris Fletcher, Clifford Kenyon Shipton, Robert Waring Stoddard, James Russell Wiggins, Bertram Wallace Korn; Secretary for Foreign Correspondence, Richard Allen Heald; Secretary for Domestic Correspondence, Marcus Allen McCorison; Recording Secretary, Linwood Mandeville Erskine, Jr.; Treasurer, Augustus George Bullock; Committee on Publications, Alden Porter Johnson, Bernard Bailyn, and James Eugene Mooney. Upon motion duly seconded, it was unanimously

VOTED To close the nominations and to instruct the Secretary to cast one ballot for the slate as nominated. This being done, the slate of officers and Council members was declared elected.

The President appointed Pierce W. Gaines and Roger E. Stoddard as tellers for the election of new members, and the following persons were elected by ballot to membership in the Society:

Fredson Thayer Bowers Bruce Goddard Daniels Wendell Douglas Garrett Barnaby Conrad Keeney George Berkeley Young

A paper was presented by Richard Harrison Shryock of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, entitled, 'Empirical versus Rational Approaches in American Medicine 1700–1850,' and a paper was presented by Whitfield Jenks Bell, Jr., of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, entitled, 'Neighborhood Newtons; Local Scientific Societies in the Early Nineteenth Century.'

The meeting adjourned at 12:37 p.m. to enjoy a luncheon as the guests of Philip C. Beals.

Linwood Mandeville Erskine, Jr. Recording Secretary Copyright of Proceedings of the American Antiquarian Society is the property of American Antiquarian Society and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use.