New Members Elected to AAS

AAS was founded not only as an independent research library but also as a learned society. Members are nominated by existing members, staff, and other friends, and are elected at twice-yearly members meetings. Members encompass a wide variety of scholars, both academic and independent, librarians and curators, collectors of Americana, booksellers and others who deal in manuscripts, newspapers, graphic arts, and ephemera, as well as those who have achieved distinction in a range of fields. AAS members range from history buffs working in finance to poets who engage with the American past to local Worcesterites who value a local resource.

The following individuals accepted membership in the Society after their election on April 2, 2023.

Anna Arabindan-Kesson, associate professor of African American and Black Diasporic art, Princeton University

Mia L. Bagneris, associate professor of African Diaspora art and studies of race in Western Art and director of the Africana Studies Program, Tulane University

Cheryl Beredo, associate director for collections and research services at the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, New York Public Library

Lois Brown, Arizona State University Foundation professor of English and director of the Center for the Study of Race and Democracy, Arizona State University

G. Scott Clemons, partner and chief investment strategist, private banking, Brown Brothers Harriman

Raúl Coronado, associate professor of ethnic studies, University of California, Berkeley

John Ernest, Judge Hugh Morris Professor of English, University of Delaware

Brigitte N. Fielder, associate professor of comparative literature, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Steven B. Finer, owner, Steven Finer Rare Books

Adrien C. Finlay, executive director, Music Worcester

Paula J. Giddings, Elizabeth A. Woodson 1922 Professor Emerita of Africana studies, Smith College

James E. Goldsberry, retired vice president for enterprise solid-state drive and systems engineering, Western Digital Corporation

Yvonne Goldsberry, president, Endowment for Health

Harvey J. Graff, professor emeritus of English and history, Ohio State University

Emily Guthrie, librarian, Library Company of Philadelphia

Erin McGuirl, executive director, Bibliographical Society of America

T. Michael Parrish, Linden G. Bowers Professor of American History, Baylor University

Sandra Phoenix, executive director, Historically Black Colleges and Universities Library Alliance

Gail T. Randall, trustee, George I. Alden Trust

Joseph Rezek, associate professor and director of American and New England studies, Boston University

Jonathan W. Senchyne, associate professor of book history and print culture in the Information School, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Kenneth N. Shure, book dealer

Bruce N. Shyer, retired attorney

Joel B. Silver, director, Lilly Library, Indiana University

Keith Stokes, vice president, 1696 Heritage Group

Page Talbott, director of museum outreach, Lenfest Center for Cultural Partnerships, Drexel University

Kimberly M. Toney, inaugural coordinating curator for Native American and Indigenous Collections, John Carter Brown Library and Brown University Library

Henry B. Voigt, retired chief executive officer, DuPont Teijin Films

Crystal L. Webster, assistant professor of history, University of British Columbia

Ilyon Woo, independent historian and writer

Quick Links

Catalog | Login | Digital A-Z


Monday: 9-5
Tuesday: 10-5
Wednesday: 9-5
Thursday: 9-5
Friday: 9-5

Keep in Touch

Link to AAS Facebook Link to AAS TwitterLink to AAS BlogLink to AAS Instagram   Link to AAS YouTube