Public Programs - Lectures and Performances

Public lecture at Antiquarian Hall

Fall 2017

Tuesday, September 26, at 7 p.m.
"Politeness and Public Life in Early America -- and Today"
by Steven C. Bullock

Tuesday, October 3, at 7 p.m.
"A Revolution of her Own!"
Performed by Judith Kalaora

Tuesday, October 12, at 7 p.m.
"Thundersticks"
by David Silverman

Thursday, October 26, at 7 p.m.
"Minutemen Revisited", the thirteenth annual Baron Lecture
by Robert A. Gross

Tuesday, November 7, at 7 p.m.
"Second Revolutions: Thomas Jefferson and Haiti"
by James Alexander Dun

Thursday, November 16, at 7 p.m.
"What a Stench! The Civil War's Instant Cities"
by Melanie Kiechle

 

Previous Programs - Spring 2017

Thursday, March 16, at 7 p.m.
"The Matter of Black Lives: Writing the Biography of Frederick Douglass and His Family"
by Ezra Greenspan

Thursday, March 30, at 7 p.m.
"'Reader, Can You Assist Me?' John James Audubon and the Origins of Citizen Science”
by Gregory Nobles
Co-Sponsored by the Massachusetts Audubon Society/Broad Meadow Brook Sanctuary

Tuesday, April 11, at 7 p.m.
"Equal Rights May Be Self-Evident, But Have They Been Realized?"
by Richard D. Brown
Co-sponsored by the Franklin M. Loew Lecture Series at Becker College

Tuesday, April 25, at 7 p.m.
"If I am Not for Myself Who Will Be for Me"
A one-person play about George Washington’s slave Oney, written and performed by Gwendolyn Quezaire-Presutti

Tuesday, May 2, at 7 p.m.
“Slave Resistance and the Making of Abolition”
by Manisha Sinha

Thursday, May 18, at 7 p.m.
“Bringing Pictures Back: Illustration for Nineteenth-Century American Literature”
James Russell Wiggins Lecture in the History of the Book in American Culture
by Georgia B. Barnhill

Tuesday, June 6, at 7 p.m.
“Apostle of Union: Edward Everett, Memory, and Saving the Founders’ Union”
by Matthew Mason

Tuesday, June 27, at 7 p.m.
Declaring Independence Then and Now

Quick Links
Catalog | Login | Digital A-Z

Hours
Mon, Tu, Th, Fri: 9 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Wed: 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.

Facebook logoBlog logoTwitter logoInstagram logo